Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
The main database for American history. Use it to find articles on topics in urban history. Some specific Michigan cities may be mentioned as well.
JSTOR and Project MUSE
Large collections of history journals; easy to search for references to specific cities or counties.
The Encyclopedia of Urban America (print and online)
- Census Data
the most comprehensive source for all cities, regardless of size or status.
gives you access to selected census information for cities in an easy to use interace.
- Michigan, 2000. Population and housing unit counts
(Room 154 - C 3.223/5:2000 PHC-3-24)
- Michigan, 2000. Summary social, economic, and housing characteristics
(Room 154 - C 3.223/23:2000 PHC-2-24/ or online, part 1 and 2)
- Southeast Michigan Community Profiles
1980 Census, 1990 Census, 2000 Census
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (at KL or online)
- State and Metropolitan Area Data Book, 2010 (online)
- Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
selected population and housing statistics from the U.S. Census, including data from early censuses. See especially Historical Census Reports.
- Amos Hawley, The Population of Michigan, 1840-1960 (see appendix)
- County and City Data Book
complete city information for selected years since 1949
- Michigan Censuses, 1710-1830 (Ref - F565 .M635 1982 )
Other Michigan statistics
- Profiles of America: An Informational, Statistical and Relocation Encyclopedia of all U.S. Cities, Towns and Counties (2nd floor - HT 123 .P7624 1995)
- Michigan Statistical Abstract (Room 154 - HA 441 .M53 )
- Analysis of Michigan Public School Revenues and Expenditures (Room 154 - MICH DOC LB 2826 .M5 M531)
- Michigan K-12 public school districts ranked by selected financial data (Room 154 - MICH DOC LB 2826 .M5 M53)
Also available for 1983-1989
- See also Michigan Statistics and Michigan Statistics, Vital.
- Directory of Michigan Municipal Officials (2nd floor - JS 303 .M5 M52 no.1)
- Municipal Year Book (2nd floor - JS 344 .C5 A24)
- Michigan place names : The history of the Founding and the Naming of More than Five Thousand Past and Present Michigan Communities (3rd floor - F 564 .R6 1986)
You can also search online Google Books and MelCat (catalog of Michigan libraries)
- The Michigan Manual (Room 154 - JK 5831 .A32 or online)
- State and Local Government in Michigan (3rd floor - JK5825 1980 .L48)
- Managing the Modern Michigan Township (3rd floor - JS451 .M55 V463)
- Authority and Responsibilities of Michigan Township Officials, Boards, and Commissions (3rd floor - KFM 4632.5 .B38 1990)
- Chronology and documentary handbook of the State of Michigan (3rd floor - F 566.5 .C48)
- Michigan: A Guide to the Wolverine State (3rd floor - F 566 .W9 1964)
- Condensed Historical Sketches for Each of Michigan's Counties, 1940(Special Collections - Bk. Rm. F 572 .A15 Q3)
- Michigan: A History of the Wolverine State (3rd floor - F 566 .D84 1995)
- Michigan: Heart of the Great Lakes (3rd floor - F570 .S26)
For more information
- Michigan History Magazine (online)
- Michigan County Histories and Atlases (digitized atlases and history books about Michigan counties and cities).
- Library of Michigan Materials & Newspapers
Contains facts and links to the Michigan Collection, including county guides, historical research collections, imprints, bibliograhies, digital collections, and Michigan newspaper resources.
Michigan local historical organizations (Historical Society of Michigan)
Michigan county histories: a bibliography (room 154 - MICH DOC F 572 .A15 A1 M52 1978)
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
Book an appointment
Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.