MyHeritage
Millions of historical records including the US Census (1790-1940) and the UK Census (1841-1901). Includes military, immigration, and international records.
Area Libraries with Ancestry Library Edition
Millions of historical records including the US Census (1790-1940) and the UK Census (1841-1901). Includes military, immigration, and international records.
Area Libraries with Ancestry Library Edition
Burton Historical Collection @ DPL
Excellent local history collection housed at Detroit Public Library "with emphasis on the history of Detroit and Michigan from the time of settlement in the 17th century to the present." Usage fee applies. Information on the collection is available here.
Macomb County Genealogy and Local History
This collection is housed at Mount Clemens Public Library and is "one of Macomb County’s most extensive genealogy collections with over 3,000 print volumes, more than 5,000 reels of microfilm, popular subscription databases and locally produced databases indexing Macomb County and Mount Clemens records."
Oakland County Historical Resources
A "consortium of libraries, genealogical and historical societies, seeks historical materials pertaining to the Oakland County, Michigan area to make them searchable and accessible to the public."
Excellent local history collection housed at Detroit Public Library "with emphasis on the history of Detroit and Michigan from the time of settlement in the 17th century to the present." Usage fee applies. Information on the collection is available here.
Macomb County Genealogy and Local History
This collection is housed at Mount Clemens Public Library and is "one of Macomb County’s most extensive genealogy collections with over 3,000 print volumes, more than 5,000 reels of microfilm, popular subscription databases and locally produced databases indexing Macomb County and Mount Clemens records."
Oakland County Historical Resources
A "consortium of libraries, genealogical and historical societies, seeks historical materials pertaining to the Oakland County, Michigan area to make them searchable and accessible to the public."
GENDIS
This searchable resource contains more than 200,000 transcribed Michigan death records, dating from 1867-1885.
MIGenWeb
A volunteer-curated collection of online Michigan geneaology resources.
Seeking Michigan
The online platform for the Michigan Historical Center. It includes Archives of Michigan research guides and indexes, a blog, and educator resources – all from the Michigan Historical Center and Archives of Michigan staff.
This searchable resource contains more than 200,000 transcribed Michigan death records, dating from 1867-1885.
MIGenWeb
A volunteer-curated collection of online Michigan geneaology resources.
Seeking Michigan
The online platform for the Michigan Historical Center. It includes Archives of Michigan research guides and indexes, a blog, and educator resources – all from the Michigan Historical Center and Archives of Michigan staff.
Ancestor Hunt
Numerous online search tools available, including the very useful "Surname Search Portal."
Ancestry.com
Premier fee-based online searching tool for genealogists, both amateur and expert. Search U.S. Census images, the Social Security Death Index, shared family files, and more.
Fee-based family history research site featuring historical newspapers, census images, birth records, obituaries, and more.
Ellis Island Passenger Search
Search and view ship manifest records online for passengers arriving at Ellis Island. This is a free search service maintained by The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.
Family Search
Online family history research tool maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Search vital records, pedigree resources files, family history websites and more. Contains research guides and tips.
Find a Grave
Find the graves of ancestors around the world.
Fold3
"Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served." Fee-based service.
Legacy
"Search for obituaries from more than 1,500 newspapers and 3,500 funeral homes across the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and Europe" from 2000-present.
Numerous online search tools available, including the very useful "Surname Search Portal."
Ancestry.com
Premier fee-based online searching tool for genealogists, both amateur and expert. Search U.S. Census images, the Social Security Death Index, shared family files, and more.
- NOTE: Many area public libraries have access to Ancestry Library Edition, which provides access to much of the same material, at no cost to library patrons! Check out the list of area libraries that subscribe to this resource.
Fee-based family history research site featuring historical newspapers, census images, birth records, obituaries, and more.
Ellis Island Passenger Search
Search and view ship manifest records online for passengers arriving at Ellis Island. This is a free search service maintained by The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.
Family Search
Online family history research tool maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Search vital records, pedigree resources files, family history websites and more. Contains research guides and tips.
Find a Grave
Find the graves of ancestors around the world.
Fold3
"Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served." Fee-based service.
Legacy
"Search for obituaries from more than 1,500 newspapers and 3,500 funeral homes across the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and Europe" from 2000-present.
Developing Your Research Skills
A useful resource from Genealogy.com containing guides to conducting genealogy research.
Blank Census Forms
Blank forms showing the format and column headings for various census years.
A useful resource from Genealogy.com containing guides to conducting genealogy research.
Blank Census Forms
Blank forms showing the format and column headings for various census years.
Beth Wallis
Professor & Associate Dean
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879
Office: 300D Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment
Office Hours: By appointment