LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 3285/5285 - History of African American Women

• LibraryOneSearch
  You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.
• MelCat
• A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
• WorldCat
  A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks

America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present
JSTOR
Over 300 journals in history and African American studies, including the Journal of African American History and the Journal of Black Studies, as well as the Michigan Historical Review.

Project MUSE
Numerous history journals.

Direct link to...
The African American Review (1992-)
The Journal of African American History (2002-)
      formerly  The Journal of Negro History (1916-2001)
Black Women, Gender & Families (2007-)

Notable Black American women (print - Ref. E 185.96 .N68)

Black Women in America  (print - Ref. E 185.86 .B542 2005)

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (print - Ref. E 185 .E54)

Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895 : from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass (print- Ref. E 185 .E545 2006)

The Encyclopedia of African American Heritage (online)

The African American National Biography (print - Ref. E 185.96 .A4466 2008)

New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks

American Periodicals Online Series
Includes many periodicals of the pre- and post-civil war era, including many abolitionist and pro-slavery publications.

Chicago Defender (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1909-1975.

Women's Magazine Archive
Leading women’s interest consumer magazines from the late 19th century to the present

Microfilm and print series, "Negro Periodicals in the United States"

African American Women archival collections (Duke U)

Discovering American Women's History Online: a gateway to primary sources on women's history, including African American women

The African American Mosaic: a resource guide from the Library of Congress

Digital Schomburg: several digital collections on the history of African Americans, including 19th century black women writers

Archives and Research Library of the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History

African American resources at the Walter P. Reuther Library

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.