OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 3288 - Topics in African American History

Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Over 300 journals in history and African American studies

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Numerous history journals.

Direct link to
Primary sources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Detroit Free Press Historical
Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Chicago Defender Historical
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
A collection of digitized primary sources documenting the civil rights movement, from the early 20th century to the 1970s with an emphasis on the 1960s. NAACP Papers are included.
The Making of Modern Michigan: local history materials from communities around the state.

The Virtual Motor City: a collection of photographs from the Detroit News hosted by the Walter P. Reuther Library.

Digital collections of Wayne State University

Digital Collections of the Detroit Public Library

African American resources at the Walter P. Reuther Library

Archives and Research Library of the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History

The Detroit Church Project: documents on Detroit's African American churches of the 1930s and 1940s (MSU)

Hathi Trust digital library

Books
MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks

Request books through Inter Library Loan.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Related resources
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

On sabbatical fall 2017.
Contact the research help desk

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News