OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 3345 - The Reformation

Get started
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Online histories of Luther, Calvin, and other Reformation-era topics that include authoritative overviews, historiography, and bibliographies. A good place to get started and find secondary sources.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Print (KL Ref.BR 302.8 .O93 1996)
Find books
At KL: Library OneSearch
Search everything in our collections, in print or online.

MelCat
Request books from other Michigan libraries so they're sent to Kresge Library for you.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat
Search for books in libraries worlwide, which you can request through inter-library loan.
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Find journal articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts
The most comprehensive history database to search for articles and book chapters on any topic of world history.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA International Bibliography
Search for publications on cultural, philosophical, and literary topics.

Or browse these journals:
Find primary sources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Early English Books Online
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

The Post-Reformation Digital Library
Digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Many of the books are also in Early English Books Online, but this database offers good search and browse options.

17th-19th Century British Religious, Political, and Legal Tracts
Large collection of English pamphlets on all topics, including religion

Project Wittenberg
Works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans, posted in their original languages, in English translation and other languages

Calvin Resource Database (Calvin College)
Articles, essays, and lectures produced from the 16th century to the present which deal with John Calvin and 16th century Calvinism.

Council of Trent
Waterworth edition of the canons and decrees of the Council of Trent

Clergy of the Church of England Database
Principal records of clerical careers from over 50 archives in England and Wales

Portal to Jesuit Studies
English versions of texts and letters by Jesuits

British History Online
Portal to British history sources from the Middle Ages

Europeana
Digital collections of all major European libraries, including those on the reformation

British Library Digitized Manuscripts
A searchable database

For more online sources, see: Tutorials:
  
More information and help
Remote Library Services
Request books be pulled for pickup - shipping and contactless pick-up available
Request PDFs of print articles and book chapters
Electronic course reserves
, available for some classes
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office hours by appointment
[by phone or virtual meeting]


Book an appointment
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News