OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 362/562 - History of African American Women

Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Over 300 journals in history and African American studies, including the Journal of African American History and the Journal of Black Studies, as well as the Michigan Historical Review.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Numerous history journals.

Direct link to...
The African American Review (1992-)
The Journal of African American History (2002-)
      formerly  The Journal of Negro History (1916-2001)
Black Women, Gender & Families (2007-)

Other African Americans Periodicals at Kresge Library
Primary sources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff American Periodicals Online Series Includes many periodicals of the pre- and post-civil war era, including many abolitionist and pro-slavery publications.

Microfilm series, "Negro Periodicals in the United States" (room 143, KL)

African American Women archival collections (Duke U)

Discovering American Women's History Online: a gateway to primary sources on women's history, including African American women

The African American Mosaic: a resource guide from the Library of Congress

Digital Schomburg: several digital collections on the history of African Americans, including 19th century black women writers

Archives and Research Library of the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History

African American resources at the Walter P. Reuther Library

For more resources, see the following online guide.
In this guide: how to find...
Books
  • Kresge Library catalog Unrestricted Resource
    You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.
  • MelCat
  • A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
  • WorldCat Access limited to OU students, faculty, and staff
    A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

To make an appointment:

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News