OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 399 - Field experience: public history

Basic resources
Basic concepts and principles of archives and records management
Brief overview

How archives are arranged
A simple overview of archival  arrangement and description

Introduction to Archival Organization and Description 
Book-length guide for novices

Perspectives on Personal Digital Archiving
Basic information on digital preservation from the Library of Congress

Processing manuals
Step-by-step manuals to acquiring, arranging and describing archives from various archives and libraries
To go further
James M. O'Toole & Richard Cox, Understanding Archives and Manuscripts (Chicago: Society of American Archivists, 2006)
- especially chapters 4 & 5

Laura Schmidt, Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research (Society of American Archivists)
A guide designed for the users of archives

School of Information, University of Michigan: Understanding Records and Archives
Course materials on all aspects of archivists' work, including history and ethics

David Bearman, Archives and Museum Informatics Technical Report #9 (Pittsburgh, Archives and Museum Informatics, 1989)
Training opportunities
History Skills workshops by the Historical Society of Michigan

Continuing education from SAA
Tools
Processing Preservation
Ethics

Society of American Archivists website (SAA)
Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

To make an appointment:

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News