- New York Times Historical
- Chicago Defender (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1909-1975.
- Detroit Free Press Historical
Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.
- Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
Growing collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press, a few from the 1950s.
- Other historical papers on microfilm include the Detroit News (1890-present -- an index is available)
- Annals of America (in the library's reference collection on the 2nd floor, call number E 173 .A793) contains hundreds of primary source documents.
- You may also find primary sources by searching the Library Catalog. Often, important primary sources are gathered together and reprinted in books. The following words and phrases in the Subject Headings of a book record may indicate that the item contains primary source material:
|--Diaries||--Songs and music|
|--Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.||--Facsimiles|
|--Records and correspondence||--Manuscripts|
You can use any of these terms in a Boolean Keyword search of your topic. For example: eisenhower and correspondence.
- Consult Kresge Library's Government documents for historians guide for assistance in finding and using government documents.
- Foreign Relations of the United States - A series (also available in print in the library in the documents collection - S 1.1:) that provides copies of important documents in foreign relations history. The online version is not yet complete. For the 1950s, consult the Wisconsin Digital Collections.
- American Presidency Project (UCSB) - Searchable database of presidential documents.
- Eisenhower Presidential Library (a few digitized collections)
- John F. Kennedy Presidential Library Digital Collections
- Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale University)
- National Security Archive (declassified documents)
- International History Declassified (Wilson Center Digital Archive)
- Legislative Insight : hearings, committee reports and other documents related to enacted laws.
- History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
A collection of digitized primary sources documenting the civil rights movement, from the early 20th century to the 1970s with an emphasis on the 1960s. NAACP Papers are included.
- Internet Archive: a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, government documents, archived web pages...
- Hathi Trust: Books, journals and more. Works in the public domain are available full text.
- National Archives: some digitized collections, like the Pentagon Papers
- American Memory: the online collections of the Library of Congress, organized by theme and by period.
- Digital Public Library of America: a portal for a large number of primary sources held across the U.S.
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images
- VAST: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.
The history research guide and 20th century U.S. history guide contain references to some of the largest digital archives online.
For help in working with primary sources, consult History Matters and American Historical Association Archives Wiki - A searchable wiki of information on print and digital archives worldwide.
Some key aspects of American history since the 1960s are illustrated in the archives. Explore examples of topics and primary sources to research them.
Other special collections at Kresge Library:
The Billie Farnum Papers are also a good source for research on the 1950s and 1960s in the U.S. Billie Farnum served in the House of Representatives as a Democrat for the 19th Congressional District (around OU) in 1965-1967. Before that, he was administrative aide to Senator Blair Moody, Assistant Secretary of State of Michigan (1957-1960) and Auditor General of Michigan (1961-1964). He also served as Deputy State Chairman of the Michigan Democratic Party in 1960-1961 and was a delegate at the Democratic National Convention in 1956, 1960, and 1964.
The archive of the Oakland Press, which goes back to the Civil War, is a great source documenting local events.
- America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present
- Project MUSE
- Google Scholar to find citations to books, conference proceedings, journal articles and more. Google Scholar provides information on who has cited a particular work.
1. Consult notes and bibliographies.
of books and journal articles that you find (these bibliographies should help you identify other valuable materials on your topic)
2. Determine whether KL owns that book or journal article.
e.g.: Suppose you find the following citation in a bibliography:
Walker, J. S. "Recent Literature on Truman's Atomic Bomb Decision: A Search For Middle Ground." Diplomatic History 29 no. 2 (2005): 311-334.
Search the Library Catalog for the journal title (Diplomatic History ). Be sure to perform a Journal Title search — — NOT the title of the article.
3. If Kresge Library does not have this article, you can order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
- Kresge Library Catalog
You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.