This full-text historical collection contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Take a look at our guide to EAI for an introduction on searching or browsing the imprints. How to export to RefWorks
Colonial newspapers at KL (microcards in room 143KL- readable with our new microform reader and scanner). Example: Boston Chronicle (1767-1770)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Anthologies of primary sources at KL:
- United States History Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 Sources
- For more, search the catalog, using the search term of your choice and adding "sources". Example: "new england" AND sources
Online primary sources
- The Avalon Project
- Colonial Charters, Grants and Related Documents (Avalon Project)
- The Plymouth Colony Archive Project
- Colonial Connecticut Records, 1636-1776
- Massachusetts online archive
- Salem Witch Trial Documents
- George Whitefield's Sermons
- Library of Congress Archives
- Papers of Benjamin Franklin
- Colonial Era Maps
- Library of Congress Map Collection
- David Rumsey Map Collection
- Hargrett Map Collection
- Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850 (New York Public Library)
- Colonial Currency
- Bethlehem Digital History Project
- Digital Archive of American Architecture
- Images of the Atlantic slave trade and slave life in the Americas
- The Transatlantic Slave Trade Database
- The Transatlantic Slave Trade (Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture)
- France in America (Library of Congress and BNF)
- Primary sources pertaining to early American history
- Canadiana Discovery Portal (search across Canadian archives)
- archivescanada.ca (search and browse archives in Canada)
- British History Online (large online collections on British history, including American colonies)
Guides on analyzing primary sources:
America: History & Life , Historical Abstracts are authoritative databases to look for history articles.
Some important journals in colonial history:
- The William and Mary Quarterly. Refereed scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World-New World contacts to the early 19th century and beyond.
- Eighteenth Century Studies.
- The Journal of American History.
- The American Historical Review.
- The History Compass.
- The New England Quarterly -- print since 1928 (4th floor F1.N62) and online since 2007.
- Environmental History.
- Early American Studies.
- Church History -- print for 1965-2008 (4th floor BR140 A45) and online since 1993.
- Kresge Library Catalog
You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
Portal to digital primary and secondary sources on the long 18th century
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages