- Kresge Library Catalog
You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
A global catalog of libraries. It allows you to request books at a library beyond Michigan to be sent to you.
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Full text of many history journals
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Detroit Free Press Historical
Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.
Walter P. Reuther Library
Has digital collections of images, audio clips and more.
Bentley Historical Library
Sources on Detroit and Michigan history. See for example the guide to Detroit and the Great Migration.
Burton Historical Collection
The archives at the Detroit Public Library, documenting Detroit history.
Virtual Motor City
Historical photos from the Detroit News Collection
American Black Journal
A TV show that started in 1968 to provide a forum for African American Detroiters
Some of the books at KL may provide primary documents. For example: Arthur L. Johnson, A Memoir and other books in Wayne State's African American Life Series.
iIportant primary sources are often gathered together and reprinted in books. The following words and phrases in the Subject headings of a book record may indicate that the item contains primary source material:
|--Diaries||--Songs and music|
|--Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.||--Facsimiles|
|--Records and correspondence||--Manuscripts|
To request an item from another library:
ILLiad (libraries worldwide).
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages