OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST497 - Capstone in American History (Milne)

Find Primary sources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
This full-text historical collection contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Take a look at our guide to EAI for an introduction on searching or browsing the imprints. How to export to RefWorks
Colonial newspapers at KL (microcards in room 143KL- readable with our new microform reader and scanner). Example: Boston Chronicle (1767-1770)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Eighteenth Century Collections Online
180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Anthologies of primary sources at KL
United States History Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 Sources
For more, search the catalog, using the search term of your choice and adding "sources". Example: "new england" AND sources

Online primary sources
The Avalon Project
Colonial Charters, Grants and Related Documents (Avalon Project)
The Plymouth Colony Archive Project
Colonial Connecticut Records, 1636-1776
Massachusetts online archive
Salem Witch Trial Documents
George Whitefield's Sermons
Library of Congress Archives
Papers of Benjamin Franklin
Colonial Era Maps
Library of Congress Map Collection
David Rumsey Map Collection
Hargrett Map Collection
Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850 (New York Public Library)
Colonial Currency
Bethlehem Digital History Project
Digital Archive of American Architecture
Images of the Atlantic slave trade and slave life in the Americas
The Transatlantic Slave Trade Database
The Transatlantic Slave Trade (Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture)
France in America (Library of Congress and BNF)
Primary sources pertaining to early American history
Canadiana Discovery Portal (search across Canadian archives)
archivescanada.ca (search and browse archives in Canada)
British History Online (large online collections on British history, including American colonies)

Guides on analyzing primary sources:
"Making Sense of Evidence," History Matters

Find Articles
Useful databases for scholarly articles on the colonial period in America:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life , Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts are authoritative databases to look for history articles.

To find the text of articles that are not available online in these databases, be sure to use the link to determine if the article is available online in another database or in print in the library.

 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR   and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE contain the full text of many - but not all - history journals.

Some  important journals in colonial history:
Find Books
  • Unrestricted Resource Kresge Library Catalog
    You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.
  • MelCat
    A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat
    A catalog of materials owned by libraries worldwide. How to export to RefWorks
Useful tools and resources
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing manual
Kate Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Reference LB 2369 .T8 2007)

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

To make an appointment:

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News