OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 4980 - Historical Research Seminar (Estes)

Secondary sources
Books
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

You can browse the library's holdings by subject headings (enter as subjects in Library OneSearch advanced):
Also scan the bibliographies and bibliographic essays of encyclopedias: Review the bibliographies and end notes of scholarly works on the topic.
Articles and book chapters
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The most comprehensive search tool to find articles, book chapters, dissertations on American history

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts
The equivalent source for world history

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Contain many history journals.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA International Bibliography Good for travel literature, popular culture, and more.
Primary Sources
Documentary History of the Ratification
The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution (University of Wisconsin Press):
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Early American Imprints, entire series
Books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in colonial America and the early republic.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff American Periodicals Online Series
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1940.

Compilations in print at Kresge Library:
sources in United States History 1783-1815 and 1783-1865

Founders Online
Papers of George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison

The American Constitution - a Documentary Record (Avalon Project)

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention (Library of Congress)

Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873 (Library of Congress)


For more primary sources:
Additional information
Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office hours (online or in person) by appointment

Book an appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News