OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 4980 - Historical Research Seminar (Hastings)

Background information
General resources that offer suggestions for further reading:
Books
  • Library OneSearch
    Search for physical and digital collections at KL
  • MelCat
    A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
  • WorldCat
    A global catalog of libraries. It allows you to request books at a library beyond Michigan to be sent to you.
Beyond Kresge Library
To request an item from another library:

MelCat (catalog of Michigan libraries)

ILLiad (libraries worldwide).
Articles
Selected journals
Databases

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Iinclude the full text of many journals in history.
Primary sources in print
The library has readers (compiled primary sources) about the Holocaust. Use advanced search to find them, entering one of the following words in a search field and adding other search terms in another field:
  • sources
  • correspondence
  • personal narratives
  • diaries
  • notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
  • interviews
  • sermons
  • songs and musid
  • facsimile
  • manuscripts
For example: holocaust and sources.

Learn more in this tutorial.

Try similar searches in Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff WorldCat , a worldwide catalog of books and manuscripts.
Primary sources online
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks

US Holocaust Memorial Museum
Yad Vashem, World Holocaust Remembrance Center - Digital collections
Digibaeck (German Jewish history online)
Center for Jewish History (digital collections)
The Nazi Concentration Camps
Nazi and East German Propaganda Archive (maintained by Professor Bytwerk at Calvin College)
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
Voices of the Holocaust (British Library)
Voices of the Holocaust (Illinois Institute of Technology)
Witnessing the Holocaust (BBC)
Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive (UM Dearborn)
Business and the Holocaust (documents)
Nuremberg Trials (Avalon Project)
Nuremberg Trials (LOC)
Nuremberg Trials Project (Harvard Law School)
Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection
CIA Names File on Adolf Eichmann
Documents - A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust
The Nizkor Project
Yizkor Books Online (Holocaust Memorial books, NYPL)
Irving Trial documents (Holocaust Denial on Trial)
 
How to find digital archives effectively
Finding primary sources
A series of online modules to learn how to search for, and select primary sources online effectively.
Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

Office hours by appointment
[by phone or virtual meeting]


Book an appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News