OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO HST 4980 - Capstone Seminar in American History (Miller)

Books
  • Unrestricted Resource Kresge Library Catalog
    Find books, journal articles, government documents, and primary sources at KL.
  • MelCat
    A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
  • WorldCat
    A global catalog of libraries. It allows you to request books at a library beyond Michigan to be sent to you.
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Journal articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff America: History & Life
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides indexing for 1,700 journals. How to export to RefWorks. Coverage: 1964-present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Full text of many history journals
Primary sources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Detroit Free Press Historical
Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Chicago Defender (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1909-1975.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
A growing collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the independent alternative press of the 1960s-1980s. Good primary sources for the history of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.

Oakland (formerly Pontiac) Press
Available in microfilm from the university archives

Walter P. Reuther Library
Has digital collections of images, audio clips and more.

Bentley Historical Library
Sources on Detroit and Michigan history. See for example the guide to Detroit and the Great Migration.

Burton Historical Collection
The archives at the Detroit Public Library, documenting Detroit history.

Virtual Motor City
Historical photos from the Detroit News Collection

American Black Journal
A TV show that started in 1968 to provide a forum for African American Detroiters

Some of the books at KL may provide primary documents. For example: Arthur L. Johnson's Memoir and other books in Wayne State's African American Life Series.


Additional sources
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478


To make an appointment:
 Book an appointment

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News