Library OneSearch allows users to search all of our 200+ databases at one time, searching across every discipline at once. This is an especially effective tool for interdisciplnary topics. Start your research in the Library OneSearch box above.
We also have many subject-specific databases, some examples of which are listed here:
America: History & Life - The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts - Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955.
JSTOR - Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present.
MLA International Bibliography - A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics with coverage back to 1925.
Project MUSE - Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.
PsycINFO - PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
If you would like to explore other databases in specific subject areas, you can browse our Databases page to find resources listed by subject, title, and format. Please note that these databases are only available to guest users on campus.
We also have many subject-specific databases, some examples of which are listed here:
America: History & Life - The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Historical Abstracts - Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. JSTOR - Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. MLA International Bibliography - A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics with coverage back to 1925. Project MUSE - Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. PsycINFO - PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.If you would like to explore other databases in specific subject areas, you can browse our Databases page to find resources listed by subject, title, and format. Please note that these databases are only available to guest users on campus.
Kresge Library
Research Help
ref@oakland.edu
248.370.4426
Amanda Nichols Hess
Associate Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487
Contact me via email to schedule an appointment
Please visit our Guest Users page for information on checking out materials, accessing the Internet while on campus, and more.
Don't forget about the Michigan Electronic Library (MeL) databases, which are available to every Michigan resident. You just need your Michigan driver's license or ID card number!
Access the most relevant MeL databases or view a complete list of e-resources.
Access the most relevant MeL databases or view a complete list of e-resources.
Digital Collections at the Library of Congress
This extensive resource includes digitized documents, visual material, audio recordings, sheet music, maps, and more. Subject areas include American history, architecture, business history, and performing arts.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA is a searchable online catalog of digitized collections in America's cultural institutions that provides free and immediate access to documents, photographs, books, maps, news footage, and more.
HathiTrust
This collection includes millions of digitized titles from academic and research libraries around the world. Items in the public domain are available in full-text.
This extensive resource includes digitized documents, visual material, audio recordings, sheet music, maps, and more. Subject areas include American history, architecture, business history, and performing arts.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA is a searchable online catalog of digitized collections in America's cultural institutions that provides free and immediate access to documents, photographs, books, maps, news footage, and more.
HathiTrust
This collection includes millions of digitized titles from academic and research libraries around the world. Items in the public domain are available in full-text.
Digital Collections from the Detroit Public Library
Michigan History Collection
Nineteenth century Michigan materials available from HathiTrust. Items in the public domain are available in full-text.
Seeking Michigan
Operated by the Michigan History Foundation, this site includes digitized primary source documents from pre-statehood to the late 1960s.
Michigan History Collection
Nineteenth century Michigan materials available from HathiTrust. Items in the public domain are available in full-text.
Seeking Michigan
Operated by the Michigan History Foundation, this site includes digitized primary source documents from pre-statehood to the late 1960s.
Early American Digital Archive
A collection of original texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820, maintained by the University of Maryland Libraries.
The Making of America
This is a collection of "primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction," provided through a partnership between the University of Michigan and Cornell University.
National Archives
"See scanned images of America's founding documents accompanied by transcripts, investigate U.S. locations and buildings, explore military records and foreign policy documents, research civil rights movements and the people affected by them, and more."
A collection of original texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820, maintained by the University of Maryland Libraries.
The Making of America
This is a collection of "primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction," provided through a partnership between the University of Michigan and Cornell University.
National Archives
"See scanned images of America's founding documents accompanied by transcripts, investigate U.S. locations and buildings, explore military records and foreign policy documents, research civil rights movements and the people affected by them, and more."
Chronicling America
The Library of Congress provides access to this collection of historic American newspapers from 1789-1963.
The Library of Congress provides access to this collection of historic American newspapers from 1789-1963.
For even more online historical primary sources, please see the primary sources section of our Library Guide to History.