OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO IS 2005 - Issues in Global Health

Where to Start?
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Opposing Viewpoints in Context  
Summarizes the key players and major stakeholders for a variety of national and international public issues, including health, mental health, environment, and politics. Reports are topically arranged, each topic including audioclips from radioshows like NPR's All Things Considered, links to full-text related magazine articlesinternational newspapersprimary source materials, and citations for academic journal articles. Opposing Viewpoints collocates and/or cites a variety of resources and offers context for situating raw data and statistics. 



MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information. Use this resource side-by-side with statistics repositories to parse out the particulars of almost 1000 illnesses, diseases, and ailments. 
Data Visualization
MarketLine Country Statistics
"Features comprehensive data and forecasts including detailed coverage of consumer demographics, incomes, and expenditures. Key indicator forecasts include GDP, inflation, exchange rates, investment, trade, population, and labor market."

Global Burden of Disease
Christopher J.L. Murray, director of the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, describes his organization's data visualization tools that put global health statistics into conversation with one another in more meaningful ways than simply percentages or incidence rate. These tools shy from simply reporting the leading causes of death, but adjust these values to consider the burden of living with a communicable or noncommunicable disease, or as the result of an injury. These various tools can be adjusted for the particularities of a given country in comparison to others, prioritizing the challenges ahead.
 
World Health Organization
The WHO's Global Health Observatory Data Repository collects health-related country statistics, or you can search by themeincluding mental health, sanitation, lead poisoningair pollution, and more. Data collected by the WHO is considered authoritative and is typically the most current information available. Data is presented in tables (see screenshot below) and can also be downloaded as Excel or CSV file, or sent to an interactive graph, and all indicators are linked to their explanations.


 
 


Weekly Epidemiological Record publishes the latest outbreaks and emergency health responses. The weekly English-French publication includes topics regarding outbreak survellience, best practices for innoculations, and warnings against reemerging illnesses. These timely reports include graphs and tables and provide sourced and authoritative contextualization for emerging infections and illnesses around the world.
 
The World Bank
Unlike the Global Health Observatory Data Repository, which focuses primarily on health, the scope of World Bank data is broader, tracking such indicators as emissions, improved water sources, improved sanitation facilities, access to electricity, and refugee population, among many others. Data may be viewed online as a graph or map and and shared or embedded as such.
 
GapMinder
Browse health-related indicators including suicide, stomach cancer, TB, contraceptive use, diarrhoael death, etc., and create a custom, sharable time-progressed visualization to chart incidence against income per person. Data can be read online, downloaded into Excel, or viewed using the GapMinder World visualization. Each indicator is linked to its source data and includes an explication of indicators.
 
Go to GapMinder Data
 
Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Professor
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 237 Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment
Case Studies
Case Studies for Global Health

Search case studies by access, discovery/development, intervention/prevention, topic, or country in the world (see list of cases available for Burkina Faso in screenshot above). Case studies illuminate social, political, and governmental responses to a given program or intervention, whether combatting Dengue Fever or cervical cancer. Studies may be downloaded as .pdf copies. 

Center for Global Development
The "Millions Saved" program features 20 case studies highlighting the organization's success worldwide in combatting measles, curbing tobacco use, and fighting iodine deficiency, among other topics. Case studies are summarized in brief and may be downloaded in full as a .pdf copy. 

Article Databases
In need of scholarly articles? Try out your topic in a few of these:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Alt-Health Watch
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness are included here. Many articles are available full-text. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present How to Export to Refworks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff HealthScience: Sage Full-text
HealthScience: Sage Full-text includes the full text of 26 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 46,000 articles and up to 129 years of backfiles.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. How to export to RefWorks

ClinicalTrials.Gov
Clinical Trials collects the current status (recruting, completed, or terminated) of studies in the clinical trial phase around the world. Public reporting of trials' progress and results helps counter publication bias, wherein studies with successful results are more likely to be published. Clinical Trials holds records of assigned interventions, enrolled study population, identifies funding for the study, and once completed, the results. Studies may be explored by topic or by honing in on a region of the world (see screenshot below) and selecting a particular country. Trials include interventions for malaria, breast-feeding, diarrhea, hepatitis, incomplete abortion, and much more.   

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News