OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO IS 3001- The Global Citizen

Find background information
KL has numerous online encyclopedias that provide overviews of topics. See especially:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Gale Virtual Reference Collection
Large selection of encyclopedias in many disciplines

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Opposing Viewpoints in Context
The premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints; brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more! How to export to RefWorks
 
** For other sources, see our Online Encyclopedias guide **
Find Newspapers
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel New York Times - Current
Full-text from 1985 to the present date. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
Search for newspaper articles from publications all over the world.
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find journal articles
Multi-disciplinary databases

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
 
** KL also has many databases for specific disciplines -- see list by subject **
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Find political cartoons
The Association of American Editorial Cartoonists
Cartoons are searchable by keyword and publication date.

Google Image Search
Use Boolean search techniques to search efficiently, i.e. "political cartoons" "gun control" 2017

PoliticalCartoons.com
Searchable database of cartoons available for purchase. Users can search by topic, date, region, etc.
 
** Individual publication websites will often allow you to search their cartoons as well. Think Newsweek, USA Today, The New Yorker, etc.**
Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Professor
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 237 Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News