OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO JRN 2000 - Introduction to Journalism & News Writing

News Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Factiva
Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva.com combines more than 28,000 sources to give users access to premium content from 159 countries in 22 languages.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Regional Business News
Provides full-text coverage for regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications.  Thanks to MeL.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.  Thanks to MeL.
Archival & Historical Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Accessible Archives: African American Newspapers Collection
Includies articles from: The Christian Recorder (1861–1902)The Colored American (1837–1841) Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863) Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829) The National Era (1847–1860) The North Star (1847–1851) Provincial Freeman (1854–1857) Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Chicago Defender (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Covers several editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1909-1975.

Chronicling America - from the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Explore newspapers from 1777-1963
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Detroit Free Press Historical
Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Women's Magazine Archive, Collection II

The Collection II archive includes the following titles:

  • Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005)
  • Essence (1970 to 2005)
  • Seventeen (1944 to 2005)
  • Town and Country (1846 to 2005)
  • Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005)
  • Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003)
Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu

 
Journalism Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Communication & Mass Media Complete
This resource "offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Opposing Viewpoints in Context
The premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints; brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more!  Thanks to MeL. How to export to RefWorks
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News