OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Liberal Studies

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Histories Online
Includes more than 260 volumes from the esteemed Cambridge Histories and covers 14 subject areas including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy, and Religious Studies.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of American Studies
This source brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Essay and General Literature Index
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other collected works in the humanities and social sciences literature. Coverage: 1985-present
How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks

See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Humanities Full Text
Here you'll find articles, book reviews, and interviews dealing with literature, movies, journalism, dance, and communication. 1984 to present. How to export to RefWorks.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks

More on Finding Articles...
Also try Databases listed by Subject to browse the databases listed under History, Anthropology, Political Science, Art, Education, and English.

 
Online Reference Materials
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.

Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Associate Professor
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 237 Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Useful Websites

Confluence: The Journal of Graduate Liberal Studies

  • Available at Kresge Library: AS 36 .J6, 4th floor

AGLSP: The Association of Graduate Liberal Studies Programs

OU's Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Program


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News