Use the tabs across the top of the guide to navigate to the main sections.
- Grippi et al (eds.) Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders. 5th ed. McGraw-Hill, 2015. [AccessMedicine]. Print: RC 756 .F57 2015
- Kumar et al (eds). Robbins Basic Pathology. 10th ed. Elsevier, 2018. [ClinicalKey]. Print: RC 111 .K395 2018
- Weinberger et al (ed). Principles of Pulmonary Medicine. 7th ed. Elsevier, 2019. [ClinicalKey]. Print: RC 756.W45 2019.
- West. Respiratory Physiology: the Essentials. 10th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2016. [Not available online.] Print: QP 121 .W43 2016
AFCP & BFCP Textbooks
- Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 8th ed, by Keith L. Moore et al. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2018 [LWW Health Library: Medical Education]
Print: QM 23.2 .M67 2018
- Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th ed, by Frank H. Netter. Elsevier, 2019 [ClinicalKey]
Print: QM 25 .N46 2018
- Mark's Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach, 5th ed, by Michael Lieberman et al. Wolters Kluwer, 2018 [LWW Health Library: Medical Education]
Print: QP 514.2 .L54 2018
- Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 12th ed, by Lynn S. Bickley et al. Wolters Kluwer, 2017 [LWW Health Library: Medical Education]
Print: RC78 .B38 2017
- Langman's Medical Embryology, 14th ed, by T.W. Sadler. Wolters Kluwer, 2019 [LWW Health Library: Medical Education]
Print: QM 601 .L35 2019
- Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 15th ed, by Athony Mescher. McGraw-Hill, 2018 [AccessMedicine]
Print: QM 551 .M47 2018
- Wheater's Functional Histology: A Text and Colour Atlas, 6th ed, by Barbara Young et al. Churchill Livingstone, 2014 [ClinicalKey]
Print: QM 551 .Y686 2014
- Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 14th ed, by Bertram G Katzung. Lange, 2018 [AccessMedicine]
Print: RM 301.28 .B38 2018
- Principles of Pharmacology: The Pathophysiologic Basis of Drug Therapy, 4th ed, by David E Golan. Wolters Kluwer, 2017 [LWW Health Library: Medical Education]
Print: RM 301 .P65 2017
- Goodman's and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th ed, by Laurence L. Brunton et al. McGraw-Hill, 2018 [AccessMedicine]
Print: RM 300 .G644 2018
- Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th ed, by John E. Hall. Elsevier, 2021 [ClinicalKey]
Print: QP 34.5 .G9 2016
This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information. The following respiratory medicine ebooks are availalbe in AccessMedicine:
Medical and surgical content from Elsevier, including more than 900 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser. The following respiratory medicine ebooks are available in ClinicalKey:
- Clinical Respiratory Medicine, 4th edition, 2012, edited by Spiro et al
- Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 6th edition, 2016, edited by Broaddus et al
- Rispiratory Physiology, 2nd edition, 2019, by Michelle M. Cloutier
Collection of more than 40 electronic textbooks in the basic medical sciences, including anatomy, biochemistry, embryology, genetics, histology, immunology, neuroscience, pharmacology and physiology. Provides online access to the popular "Bate's Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking." The following respiratory medicine ebook is available in LWW Health Library:
- West's Pulmonary Pathophysiology: the Essentials, 9th ed, 2017 by John B. West et al.
Collection of hundreds of full-text ebooks and journals from Lippincott Williams and Wilkins. Includes medicine, health sciences and nursing. Also provides access to MEDLINE.The following respiratory medicine ebooks are available in OvidSP.
- Baum's Textbook of Pulmonary Disease, 7th edition, 2004, edited by James D. Crapo, Jeffrey Glassroth, Joel B. Karlinsky and Talmadge E. King.
- The ICU Book, 4th edition, 2014, by Paul L. Manning.
- Interpretation of Pulmonary Function Tests: A Practical Guide, 3rd edition, 2009, by Robert E. Hyatt, Paul D. Scanlon, and Masao Nakamura.
- Manual of Clinical Problems in Respiratory Medicine, 7th edition, 2014, by Timothy A Morris, Andrew L. Ries, and Richard A. Bordow.
Medical Library Director
Call us or use our Research Consultation Calendar to request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Embark project. We are currently using Zoom or Google Meet for consultations.
Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, OB/GYN, and surgical topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions.
- ACLAND's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
- e-Anatomy: Human Anatomy, Medical Imaging and Illustrations (IMAIOS)
- Netter Reference - including Atlas of Human Anatomy and Concise Radiologic Anatomy
From the University of Waterloo, Center for Teaching ExcellenceSelf-Directed Learning: A Four-Step Process
Learning independently can be challenging, even for the brightest and most motivated students. As a means of better understanding the processes involved in this mode of study, this Teaching Tip outlines key components of four key stages to independent learning, known as self-directed learning: being ready to learn, setting learning goals, engaging in the learning process, and evaluating learning.
Step 1: Assess readiness to learn
Students need various skills and attitudes towards learning for successful independent study. This step involves students conducting a self-evaluation of their current situation, study habits, family situation, and support network both at school and at home and also involves evaluating past experiences with independent learning. For a detailed Learning Skills Assessment Tool, read our Readiness to Learn Teaching Tip. Signs of readiness for self-directed learning include being autonomous, organised, self-disciplined, able to communicate effectively, and able to accept constructive feedback and engage in self-evaluation and self-reflection.
Step 2: Set learning goals
Communication of learning goals between a student and the advising instructor is critical. We've developed a set of questions for students to consider as they map out their learning goals: our Unit Planning Decision Guide). Also critical in developing a clear understanding of learning goals between students and instructors are learning contracts. Learning contracts generally include:
- Goals for the unit of study
- Structure and sequence of activities
- Timeline for completion of activities
- Details about resource materials for each goal
- Details about grading procedures
- Feedback and evaluation as each goal is completed
- Meeting plan with the advising instructor
- Agreement of unit policies, such as a policy on late assignments
Step 3: Engage in the learning process
Students need to understand themselves as learners in order to understand their needs as self-directed learning students — referring students to our resource on learning preferences may be helpful. Students should also consider answering the following questions:
- What are my needs re: instructional methods?
- Who was my favourite teacher? Why?
- What did they do that was different from other teachers? Students should reflect on these questions throughout their program and substitute “teacher” with “advising instructor”
- A deep approach to studying involves transformation and is ideal for self-directed learning. This approach is about understanding ideas for yourself, applying knowledge to new situations and using novel examples to explain a concept, and learning more than is required for unit completion.
- A surface approach involves reproduction: coping with unit requirements, learning only what is required to complete a unit in good standing, and tending to regurgitate examples and explanations used in readings.
- A strategic approach involves organization: achieving the highest possible grades, learning what is required to pass exams, memorizing facts, and spending time practicing from past exams.
Step 4: Evaluate learning
For students to be successful in self-directed learning, they must be able to engage in self-reflection and self-evaluation of their learning goals and progress in a unit of study. To support this self-evaluation process, they should:
- regularly consult with the advising instructor,
- seek feedback, and
- engage in reflection of their achievements, which involves asking:
- How do I know I’ve learned?
- Am I flexible in adapting and applying knowledge?
- Do I have confidence in explaining material?
- When do I know I’ve learned enough?
- When is it time for self-reflection and when is it time for consultation with the advising faculty member?
Successful independent study requires certain responsibilities or roles of both students and advising faculty members. The following is a brief list of the more important roles. It is useful for both students and advising faculty members to periodically review this list and communicate as to whether each feels the other is fulfilling their share of the responsibility.
- Self-assess your readiness to learn
- Define your learning goals and develop a learning contract
- Monitor your learning process
- Take initiative for all stages of the learning process — be self-motivated
- Re-evaluate and alter goals as required during your unit of study
- Consult with your advising instructor as required
- Build a co-operative learning environment
- Help to motivate and direct the students’ learning experience
- Facilitate students’ initiatives for learning
- Be available for consultations as appropriate during the learning process
- Serve as an advisor rather than a formal instructor
CTE teaching tips
- Independent Studies: Readiness to Learn
- Independent Studies: Unit Planning Decision Guide
- Self-Directed Learning: Learning Contracts
- Understanding Your Learning Style
- Graves, N. (Ed.) (1993). Learner managed learning: Practice, theory, and policy. Leeds: AW Angus & Co. Limited.
- Hammond, M. & Collins, R. (1991). Self-directed learning: Critical practice. London: Kogan Page Limited.
- Hiemstra, R. Self-directed web portal.
- Kim, R., Olfman, L., Ryan, T., & Eryilmaz, E. (2014). Leveraging a personalized system to improve self-directed learning in online educational environments. Computers & Education, 70, 150-160.
- Knowles, M. (1986). Using learning contracts: Practical approaches to individualizing and structuring learning. London: Jossey-Bass Publications.
- Simpson, O. (2000). Supporting students in open and distant learning. London: Kogan Page Limited.
- Tait, J. & Knight, P. (1996). The management of independent learning. London: Kogan Page Limited.
The CRAAP Test - Developed by the Meriam Library, California State University
Searching for information on a very current or controversial topic can result in a large number of "hits" of uneven quality.
You will have to determine the quality of the information you find, and the CRAAP Test can help.
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your situation or need.
Currency: The timeliness of the information.
- When was the information published or posted?
- Has the information been revised or updated?
- Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?
- Are the links functional?
Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.
- Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
- Who is the intended audience?
- Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
- Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is the one you will use?
- Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?
Authority: The source of the information.
- Who is the author / publisher / source / sponsor?
- What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
- Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
- Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
- Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source (examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net)?
Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.
- Where does the information come from?
- Is the information supported by evidence?
- Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
- Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
- Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
- Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?
Purpose: The reason the information exists.
- What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
- Do the authors / sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
- Is the information fact, opinion or propaganda?
- Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
- Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?
PDF Version of CRAAP Test
Revised from "Is this source or information good?" Accessed 3/27/2020. https://library.csuchico.edu/help/source-or-information-good
CRAAP Test Video - by OU librarian Beth Wallis
Board Vitals online question bank includes access to the USMLE 1, 2, & 3 banks as well as shelf exams in Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery. First time users: You must first register for a personal account. Click here to go to the registration page. You must use your Oakland University email address.
Test preparation for Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 3. Includes thousands of practice questions in the disciplines and organ systems covered by the USMLE.
- Use this link to register for an account. Be sure to use your Oakland University email.
- Use this link to access the Board Vitals question banks. Log in with your OU email and the password you created when you registered for your account.
Still having problems? Email firstname.lastname@example.org - We are always happy to help!