OU Libraries
OU Libraries
OU Libraries:
Open 24 Hours
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office:
Open 7:30am - 8pm

Hours | Location

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian - by email Ask a Librarian - by phone Ask a Librarian - in person

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MDM1 9110 - Anatomical Foundations of Clinical Practice

Moodle Link
Required & Recommended Textbooks
Note:
  • An online version of selected textbooks is accessible to OUWB medical students on campus or off campus. To access these textbooks off campus, you must login with your OU NetID and password (the same ones for accessing your OU email account and Moodle). 
  • Print copies of all required and recommended textbooks (followed by call numbers) are on reserve in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room (KL 102). If you need any assistance with locating any of the following books, please call the OUWB Medical Library at (248) 370-3773. 

REQUIRED TEXTBOOKS

Moore KL, Agur AM, Dalley AF. Essential Clinical Anatomy. 5th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2015
     QM 23.2 .M673 2015  

Sadler TW. Langman's Medical Embryology. 12th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011. 
     QM 601 .L35 2010

Mescher A. Junqueira's Basic Histology Text and Atlas.14th ed. McGraw Hill; 2015. [AccessMedicine]

REQUIRED DISSECTION MANUAL

Gould, Franklin and MacPherson. Thieme Dissector. Thieme; 2013.

RECOMMENDED TEXTBOOKS

Hankin M, Morse D, Bennett-Clarke C. Clinical Anatomy: A Case Study Approach. McGraw-Hill; 2013.
     QM 23.2 .C55 2013

Hansen JT. Netter's Clinical anatomy. Sanders/Elsevier; 2014. [ClinicalKey]

Hansen JT. Netter's Clinical anatomy. Sanders/Elsevier; 2010.
    QM 31 .N48 2010

Mettler FA. Essentials of Radiology. 3rd ed. Elsevier; 2013. [ClinicalKey]
     RC 78 .M397 2014

RECOMMENDED ATLASES

Gilroy AM, MacPherson BR, Ross, LM et al. Atlas of Anatomy. 2nd ed. Thieme; 2012.
     QM 25 .G55 2012

Netter FH. Atlas of Human Anatomy. 6th ed. 2014. [ClinicalKey]    

Netter FH. Atlas of Human Anatomy. 5th ed. 2011.
      QM 25 .N46 2011

Rohen JW, Yokochi C, Lutjen-Drecoll E. Color Atlas of Anatomy: A Photographic Study of the Human Body. 7th ed. Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2011. 
     QM 25 .R55 2011
 
RECOMMENDED USMLE Q&A REVIEW

Loukas M, Tubbs R, Abrahams P. Gray's Anatomy Review. Churchill Livingstone; 2009. [eBrary]
     QM 32 .L68 2009

Loukas M, Tubbs S, Abrahams PH, Carmichael SW. Gray's Anatomy Review. Elsevier; 2016.
     QM 32 .L68 2016

Lambert HW, Wineski LE. Lippincott's Illustrated Q&A Review of Anatomy and Embryology.  Lippincott Williams & Wilkins/Wolters Kluwer Health; 2011
     QM 31 .L36 2011
Additional Prep/Review Resources
Additional Anatomy eBooks
Drake RL. Gray's Anatomy for Students. 3rd ed. Churchill Livingstone/Elsevier; 2014 [ClinicalKey]

Gosling JA. Human Anatomy, Color Atlas and Textbook. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2017 [ClinicalKey]

Moore KL, Dalley AF, Agur AMR. Clinically Oriented Anatomy. 7th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2014 [LWW Health Library]

Morton DA, Foreman KB, Albertine KH. The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy. McGraw-Hill; 2011 [AccessMedicine; Includes an interactive self-assessment]

Detton AJ. Grant's Dissector. 16th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2017 [LWW Health Library]

Search the library's catalog to locate additional anatomy books.

Additional Embryology eBooks

Carlson BM. Human Embryology and Developmental Biology. 5th ed. Elsevier/Saunders; 2014 [ClinicalKey]

Morre KL, Persaud TVN, Torchia MG. Before We are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects. 9th ed. Saunders; 2016 [ClinicalKey]

Moore KL, Persaud TVN, Torchia MG. The Deveoloping Human. 10th ed. Saunders; 2016. [ClinicalKey]

Schoenwolf GC, Bleyl SB, Brauer PR, et al. Larsen's Human Embryology. 5th ed. Churchill Livingstone; 2008 [ClinicalKey]

Library Contact
Misa Mi, PhD, MLIS, Associate Professor and Medical Librarian
Office Hours: 9:00AM -5:00PM
E-mail: mi@oakland.edu
Phone: (248) 370-3774
Location: Room #130, Kresge Library

Multimedia Resources
Acland's Video Atlas - Dissection videos of the human body.

Anatomy & Physiology Revealed - An interactive cadaver dissection experience.  

Anatomy.TV - Interactive, 3-D anatomy resource. Rotate, add or remove layers to learn more about anatomical structures. Use the case studies and the test function to enhance your learning.

IMAIOS eAnatomy - Anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.

NetterReference
- Collection of key anatomy texts including the famous "Netter Green Books," Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy
Access to images for download, manipulation, or live presentation.

Winking Skull Pro
Images from the Gilroy, Thieme Atlas of Anatomy in addition to clinical MRI and CT radiographs. Test your knowledge of anatomy by removing the labels and filling them in yourself. Register for an account while on campus for access to the full site and to track your progress.

Free Internet Resources

AnatQuest - Images from the National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project.

BioDigital - An interactive virtual body created with 3D technology that enables users to learn about anatomy, health conditions, and treatments in a visual format

Digital Anatomist Information System - From the University of Washington, this site provides access to a collection of free interactive anatomy atlases.

Embryo Images Normal and Abnormal Mammalian Development  - Free online tutorial that uses scanning electron micrographs (mouse and human) to teach mammalian embryology.

eSkeletons - Free site from the University of Texas at Austin, this interactive database provides images of bones from human and non-human primates.

Glossary of Eponyms - Basic Human Anatomy by O'Rahilly, Muller, Carpenter & Swenson

Human Anatomy - Dissection laboratory manual from the SUNY Downstate Medical Center. Includes an extensive online quiz.

Practice Questions - Free resources of lab manuals and practice questions from University of Michigan Medical School 

Radiopaedia.org - A collection of free radiology educational resources that contains radiology cases and reference articles

Edit

OUWB Medical Library | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster