OU Libraries
OU Libraries

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MDM2 9323 - Behavioral Medicine & Psychopathology

Introduction to Guide
This guide pulls together some of the major resources in behavioral medicine and psychopathology. It includes links to the online recommended textbooks for the course as well as to other books, journals, databases, and media for self-directed learning. It's designed to help you "study for your patients."

Use the tabs at the top of the guide to navigate to the main sections.
TEXTBOOKS
REQUIRED
BRS Behavioral Science, 7th edition, by Barbara Fadem (Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, 2016)

Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry, 6th edition, by Donald Black, (American Psychiatric Press, 2014)

NEW EDITION! Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry, 7th edition, by Donald Black, (American Psychiatric Press, 2020)

 
RECOMMENDED
American Psyciatric Publishing Textbook of Suicide Assessment and Management, 2nd edition, by edited by Robert Simon and Robert Hales (American Psyciatric Publishing, 2012)

First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship, 4th edition, by Latha Ganti, Matthew Kaufman and Sean Blitzstein (McGraw-Hill, 2016)

Handbook of Behavioral Medicine: Methods and Applications, by A. Steptoe (Springer, 2010)

Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Behavioral Medicine, edited by Ana-Maria Vranceanu, Joseph A. Greer, and Steven A. Safren (Humana, 2017)

Print copies of all books are also available in the OUWB Medical Library Quiet Study Room (KL 102).
Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Medical Library Director
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

Research Assistance
Ask-a-Medical-Librarian
Research Consultation
Call us or use our Research Consultation Calendar to request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project.
SUPPLEMENTAL BOOKS
>> REFERENCE BOOKS:
>> OTHER eBOOKS:
Adolescent Health Care: A Practical Guide, 5th edition, by Lawrence S. Neinstein (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2008) (Books@Ovid)

Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice, 5th edition, by Mitchell D. Feldman et al. (McGraw-Hill, 2020) (AccessMedicine)

Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics by Robert Voight (American Academy of Pediatrics, 2011)

Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics: A Handbook for Primary Care, 2nd edition, edited by Steven Parker (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2005) (Books@Ovid)
 
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 7th edition, by Jeffrey B. Halter et al. (McGraw-Hill, 2017) (AccessMedicine)

Problem-based Behavioral Science and Psychiatry, 2nd edition, edited by Daniel Alicata et al. (Springer, 2016)
CHILD & ADOLESCENT DEVELOPMENT
>> VIDEOS & WEBSITES
AAP. HealthyChildren.org - rich resource for developmental milestones, parenting tips, etc.

CDC. Child Development - rich and extsensive resource on developmental milestones, parenting tips, etc.

Child Trends Research - comprehensive listing of Child Trends research and reports related to topics in child development including well being, health, education, and more.

Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute. Children and Terrorism Social Policy Report - this white paper explores the impact on children of living in a world of terrorism as well as the effects on parents, policymakers, and others.

National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP) - Healthy Child Development State Resource Center is a "one-stop shop for state and national tools related to healthy child development policies and practices intended to improve early identification of developmental concerns among children birth to age 8." Includes links to screening, measurement, and evaluation tools as well as training materials for health care providers.

PBS Frontline. Medicating Kids (ADHD) - five part video series following four Colorado families and their decision to medicate their ADHD children

PBS Frontline. Inside the Teenage Brain - 52-minute streaming video

TEDx Talks. Media & Children - From TEDx 2011, Dimitri Christaki, pediatrician and researcher, shares his insights on the effects of media on children's brains.

>> RECOMMENDED READING
Anzman-Frasca S, Stifter CA, Birch LL. Temperament and childhood obesity risk: a review of the literature. Journal of Developmental & Behavioral Pediatrics. 2012;33(9):732-745.
EMERGING ADULTHOOD
The Oxford Handbook of Emerging Adulthood, 1st ed edited by Jeffrey Jensen Arnett (2016)
  • 1 print reference copy available in the Medical Library Quiet Study & 1 circulating copy available for checkout, Kresge Library 3rd Floor, HQ 799.5 .O94 2016.
Arnett JJ. Emerging adulthood: A theory of development from the late teens through the twenties. American Psychologist. 2000;55(5):469-480.
AGING
AARP. Health Effects of Social Isolation - series of video clips from Dr. Berkman of Harvard exploring the health consequences of isolation in our aging population.

Henry Ford Hospital. Hearing Loss Simulator - excellent tool for understanding the experiences of those with hearing loss. Listen to how a variety of sounds with varying levels of hearing ability actually sound from those with hearing loss. 

Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI). The Conversation Project - dedicated to helping people talk about end-of-life wishes with their loved ones

NBC News. The Coming Alzheimer's Crisis Infographic

PBS Frontline. Living Old - "A powerful and intimate journey into the uncharted territory of Americans living longer than ever - and what it means for them, their loved ones and our society." Watch the streaming video (54-minutes), read the stories and interviews, learn about the issues on the accompanying website.

Pew Research Social & Demographic Trends. Growing Old in America: Expectations vs. Reality - read the overview and executive summary of this important report.

Still Alice (2014) Trailer - Hollywood depiction of a woman with early onset Alzheimers starring Julianne Moore.

TEDx Talks. Battle with Alzheimer's Disease. At TEDx 2011, Dr. Zahra Moussavi, a Canada Research Chair in Biomedical Engineering discusses her special interest and research in early diagnosis of Alzheimer's and neurorehabilitation discusses.
 
END-OF-LIFE ISSUES
PBS Frontline. Being Mortal - 55-minute superb documentary from Atul Gawande, MD a Harvard surgeon and author about end-of-life conversations.

PBS News. How Caring for a Dying Husband Made Life Worth Living - a moving, 3-minute news feature showcasing one woman's story of caring for her husband in his last months battling cancer.

PBS This Emotional Life. Grief & Loss - provides overviews of grief and types of loss, videos, and recommendations on getting help.

TEDx Talks. A Daughter to Father Heart-to-Heart - 18-minute video featuring veteran and writer Tom Brokaw and his daughter, Jennifer, discussing the need for honest dialogue about end-of-life care issues, such as living wills, health directives, and more, among families and with healthcare providers.
 
CAREGIVING
AARP. Caregiving Resource Center - resources and advice for caregivers

National Alliance for Caregiving - nonprofit organization with resources for both family caregiver and professionals

TEDx Talks. All Alzheimer's Caregivers are Not Created Equal - From TEDx 2012, Lyda C. Arévalo-Flechas, PhD, MSN, RN presents her research on the factors influencing Latino/Hispanic caregivers' perception of the experience of caring for a relative with Alzheimer's disease.
VETERANS
The Invisible War - Academy Award nominated documentary on sexual assault in the miliary. This is an accompanying website offering information on how to get involved.

National Center for PTSD - From the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, this website includes information for both the public and healthcare professionals on PTSD including overviews of the condition, recent research and publications, and links to open courses, videos, and toolkits.
  • Professional Section - includes training materials as well as information and tools to help health care professionals with assessing and treating PTSD.

PBS. When Women Come Marching Home - 56-minute documentary exploring PTSD in women veterans (DVD available for checkout from the Kresge Library Checkout Desk - DVD 4750. Checkout time is 3 days for students.)

Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him by Luis Carlos Montalvan (2012) - Watch the video trailer for the book about the journey of a Iraqi war captain plagued by war wounds and PTSD.
TEST PREP & REVIEW
Question Banks:
Board Vitals: 160 questions available in the Behavioral category of the USMLE Step 1 question bank. To access: Register for a free account using your Oakland email address and follow the email confirmation instructions.

ExamMaster Online: Create a custom practice USMLE exam by searching for questions containing the word "behavioral."  

USMLE Easy: 50 Step 1 Exam-style questions available for Behavioral Science.

eBooks:
First Aid for the Basic Sciences - General Principles, 3rd edition, edited by Tao Le (McGraw-Hill, 2017)  - Chapter 7 includes behavioral sciences topics.
Print reference copies also available in the OUWB Medical Library Quiet Study Room

Print Resources:
Two print reference copies are available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room unless otherwise noted.
  • Deja Review Behavioral Science by Gene Quinn - RC 457 .Q85 2010
  • High Yield Brain & Behavior by Barbara Fadem - QP 360 F33 2008
  • High Yield Behavioral Science by Barbara Fadem - R 726.5 .F334 2013
  • Rapid Review Behavioral Science by Vivian Stevens - R 726.5 .B426 2007
  • Underground Clinical Vignettes: Behavioral Science by Todd Swanson et al - RC 465 .B415 2007
  • USMLE Step 1 Secrets - R 834.5 .B765 2017 - Chapter 24 covers behavioral sciences
INTERPERSONAL VIOLENCE
>> RESOURCES RELATED TO CHILDREN & ADOLESCENTS
AAP. Children & Disasters: Disaster Preparedness to Meet Children's Needs - information from the American Academy of Pediatrics

CDC. Dating Matters: Understanding Teen Dating Violence Prevention - free online course

Maternal & Child Health Library (Georgetown University) Knowledge Paths are selections of current, high-quality resources on preventing, identifying, and responding to interpersonal violence. Guides include Child Maltreatment, Dating Violence Among Adolescents, and Children and Adolescents Exposed to Violence.

PBS. A Path Appears - this three-part video series follows the stories women facing prostitution, domestic violence, teen pregancy, and child labor in our own country and beyond. Companion website with links to engagement and educational materials also available. (DVD available for checkout from the Kresge Library Checkout Desk - DVD 4558. Checkout time is 3 days for students.)

TED. How Childhood Trauma Affects Health Across a Lifetime - a short, 15-minute talk from Dr. Nadine Burke Harris, a pediatrician.
 
>> RESOURCES RELATED TO ADULTS
Brave Miss World (88 min) - This award winning documentary on sexual violence "explores the trauma of sexual assault through one young woman’s journey from teenage rape victim to Miss World to empowered lawyer and activist." (DVD available for checkout from the Kresge Library Checkout Desk - DVD 4673. Checkout time is 3 days for students.)

CDC-TV. Break the Silence: Stop the Violence - 4-minute streaming video on date violence

Maternal & Child Health Library (Georgetown University) Knowledge Paths are selections of current, high-quality resources on preventing, identifying, and responding to interpersonal violence. Guides
include Intimate Partner Violence: Resources for Victims and Families

NBC News. Campus Sexual Assaults - quick, 2-minute video on the prevalence of sexual assaults on college campuses

PBS. A Death in St. Augustine - 53-minute documentary on domestic violence.
 
>> ADDITIONAL VIDEOS & WEBSITES
American Public Health Association (APHA). Gun Violence Issues & Topics page - includes APHA policy statements, facts, links to articles, research, and news related to gun violence.

CDC. Violence Prevention - contains excellent resources on child, youth, community, intimate partner, and elder abuse.

CNN Guns Project - Tracks shooting incidents across the U.S. each day to highlight stories about community violence. Also includes illustrative statistics.

National Library of Medicine. Health Services Research Information Central - Domestic Violence Topic Page - a comprehensive website of the latest news and research on domestic violence. Includes data, statistics, assessment tools, links to publications, key organizations, training opportunities, clinical guidelines, and more.

PBS. After Newtown: Guns in America - website accompanying the special week-long Frontline series. View video clips and read about the issues.

>> RECOMMENDED READING
Committee on Child Abuse and Neglect. Policy statement -- Child abuse, confidentiality, and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. Pediatrics. 2010;125(1):197-201.

Felitti VJ, Anda RF, Nordenberg D et al. The relationship of adult health to childhood abuse and household dysfunction to many of the leading causes of death in adults: The Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study. American Journal of Preventive Medicine. 1998;14(4):245-258.

Moninger J. Guns Within Reach. Parents Magazine. May 2013.

Porcerelli JH, West PA, Binienda, J, Cogan R. Physical and psychological sypmptoms in emotionally abused and non-abused women. Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine. 2006; 19(2):201-4.

Yang J, Eggers C, Connor T. 'No rules any more': Chicago violence hits hard at suburban hospital. NBC News. August 19, 2013.
SOCIOECONOMIC DETERMINANTS OF HEALTH
>> RESOURCES RELATED TO POVERTY
Child Trends. Early Childhood Highlights - The Effects of Homelessness on Young Children. 2012 report from Child Trends, the non-profit research center specializing in research and data related to children and youth.

Dateline. Breathless - short documentary exploring the impact of poverty on childhood asthma.

Detroit Free Press. Heart & Sole: Detroiter Walks 21 Miles in Work Commute. February 3, 2015.

PBS Frontline. Poor Kids - 53-minute streaming video on poverty through the eyes of children

PBS Frontline. Two American Families - 83-minute streaming video examining the impact of poverty on two families over 20 years

California Newsreel. Unnatural Causes: Is Inequality Making Us Sick? - watch clips from this important documentary highlighting the effects of social issues such as wealth, ethnicity, race, and environment on our lives.

>> RESOURCES RELATED TO HUNGER
Center for Hunger Free Communitiies

SBIRT. Boston University School of Public Health provides educational resources for physicians to discuss health behavior changes with their patient

A Place at the Table - provides information on childhood hunger and encourages involvement in this national issue
PATIENT CENTERED CARE & TREATMENT ADHERENCE
Institute for Healthcare Improvement Open School - Shared Decision Making Activity includes discussion questions, videos, and case scenarios

Institute for Healthcre Improvement. Patient Centered Care: Rebecca Bryson's Story - short, 9-minute video on challenges faced by patients in the healthcare system.

North Carolina Program on Health Literacy: The Teach Back Method

PBS Frontline. Chasing Heroin - Two-hour documentary investigating the heroin crisis in America.

PBS. Rx: The Quiet Revolution - Journey across America in this documentary film highlighting how medical practice is being changed by putting the patient first (DVD available for checkout from the Kresge Library Checkout Desk - DVD 4749)

Rana Awdish, physician and author of In Shock, talks about development of empathy and resilience after her own critical illness.

Remaking American Medicine DVD available for checkout from the Kresge Library Checkout Desk - DVD 4232. Checkout time is 3 days for students.

Society of Hospital Medicine - MARQUIS: Medication Reconciliation Resource Center includes links and information on medication safety such as safety pocket cards, videos, and guidelines.

van Dulmen S, Sluijs E, van Dijk L, de Ridder D, Heerdink R, Bensing J. Patient adherence to medical treatment: a review of reviews. BMC Health Services Research. 2007;7(55).
HUMAN FACTORS
Keim B. Is multitasking bad for us? - read the article on the PBS Nova website
DSM V & IV
DSM V:
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM - V), 5th edition. American Psychiatric Association, 2013. Print reference copies available in the OUWB Medical Library Study Room

DSM V - Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, by Michael First, 2014

DSM V - Clinical Cases, by John Barnhill, 2014

DSM IV:
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV), 4th edition. American Psychiatric Association, 2000. Print reference copy available on 2nd Floor of Kresge Library: RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2000

Quick Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-IV-TR. American Psychiatric Association, 2000. Print reference copy available in the OUWB Medical Library Quiet Study Room
CLINICAL INFORMATION
Addiction Medicine: Science and Practice, 2nd edition, edited by Bankole A. Johnson, 2020. Comprehensive textbook covering all forms of addiction. [ClinicalKey]

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Psychiatry, 3rd edition, edited by Michael H. Ebert et al, Peter T. Loosen, Barry Nurcombe, James F. Leckman, 2019. Includes basic principles and practices in psyciatric health as well as diagnosis and treatment of psyciatric disorders in adults, adolescents, and children. [AccessMedicine]

Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health. Edited by Lee Baer and Mark Blais, 2010. Includes rating scales, screenings, and assessments for depression, anxiety disorders, eating disoders, additctions, and other mental disorders. [Springer]

Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry. Edited by Benajmin Sadock, Virginia Sadock, and Pedro Ruiz, 2009. Includes theories of personality and psychopathology, diagnosis, examination, and treatment of various disorders such as mood disorders, sleep disorders, adjustment disorders, and personality disorders. [Ovid]

Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry, 2nd edtion, edited by Theodore A Stern, et al, 2016. Reknown text for diagnosing and treating psychiatric problems in the clinical setting. Downloadable PDFs of each chapter are available. [ClinicalKey]

The Substance Abuse Handbook, 2nd edition, edited by Pedro Ruiz and Eric C. Strain, 2014. Provides short and focused reviews on the nature of substance abuse as well as each type of drug that is abused, has chapters that address comorbidities and other related disorders, and information about treatment approaches. [LWW Health Library: Clerkships]

Psychoanalytic Terms and Concepts, 4th edition, edited by Elizabeth Auchincloss and Eslee Samberg, 2012. Print reference copy available in the Medical Library Quiet Study Room
TEST PREP & REVIEW
Question Banks:
Board Vitals: The Psychiatry Shelf exam has more than 700 questions. To access: Register for a free account using your Oakland email address and follow the email confirmation instructions.

ExamMaster Online: More than 350 practice questions available on psychiatry. Go to Create Exams > Clinical Sciences > Psychiatry

eBooks:
First Aid for the Basic Sciences - Organ Systems, 3rd edition, edited by Tao Le (McGraw-Hill, 2017) - Chapter 7 reviews psychiatry & psychopathology.

Case Files: Psychiatry, 6th edition, by Eugene C. Toy and Debra Klamen, 2021

Print reference copies of all books also available in the OUWB Medical Library Quiet Study Room

Print Resources:
Two print reference copies are available in the OUWB Medical Library Quiet Study Room unless otherwise noted.

Blueprints: Psychiatry by Murphy - RC 457 .87 2019
Deja Review Psychiatry by Gopal - RC 457 .G57 2011
Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry by Black - RC 454.4 .B58 2021 Each chapter features self-assessment questions.
Lange Q&A Psychiatry by Blitzstein - RC 457 .E18 2017
Psychiatry: Pretest Self-Assessment and Review by Klamen - RC 457 .W66 2021
 
CURRENT LITERATURE
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycARTICLES
Here you'll find full-text articles from many journals published by the American Psychological Association,  the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. PsycARTICLES is a subset of PsycINFO, so if you need more information, go to PsycINFO. How to export to RefWorks
CONSUMER HEALTH
MedlinePlus - Mental Disorders - plain language mental health information targeting patients. Provides information on diagnosis, treatment, mental health screening tools, statistics, and links to specific conditions.

American Psychiatric Association Mental Health - includes brochures and handouts on a variety of topics on mental health. Information is also tailored for various racial and ethnic groups, ages, military veterans, and the LGBT community.

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Health & Education -  provides easy-to-read summaries and treatment options for various mental health disorders at all ages and genders. Information is available in both English and Spanish.

Edit

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments |

Kresge Library Building: Open 8am - 8pm
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office: Open 8am - 5pm

Hours | Location