OU Libraries
OU Libraries

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MDM4 9712 - Emergency Medicine

Introduction to Guide
This guide pulls together some of the major resources in emergency medicine. It includes links online books, journals, databases, and media for self-directed learning. It's designed to help you "study for your patients."
eBooks
Huecker, Martin. Step-Up to Emergency Medicine. Wolters Kluwer, 2016 [LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations]

NEW EDITION! Knoop, Kevin J. Atlas of Emergency Medicine. 5th ed. McGraw-Hill, 2021 [AccessMedicine] - Includes videos.

NEW EDITION! Bakes, Katherine M. Emergency Medicine Secrets. 7th ed. Elsevier, 2022 [ClinicalKey]

Roberts, James R. Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care. 7th ed. Elsevier, 2019 [ClinicalKey] - Includes many videos.

Selbst, Steven M. Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets. 3rd ed. Saunders, 2015. [ClinicalKey]

Tintinalli, Judith E. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A comprehensive Study Guide. 9th ed. McGraw-Hill, 2020 [AccessMedicine] - Includes many videos.

Walls, Ron M. Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. 9th ed. Elsevier, 2018 [ClinicalKey]
Test Prep & Review
Stead, Latha. First Aid for the Emergency Medicine Clerkship. 3rd ed. McGraw-Hill, 2011 [McGraw-Hill eBookLibrary]

For additional exam prep resouces, see our Guide to Review and USMLS Resources
Research Help
Ask-a-Medical-Librarian
Research Consultation
Call us or use our Research Consultation Calendar to request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project or other research project.

Problem with a link? Please fill out this form.
Beaumont Medical Library Resources
Students rotating from other medicial schools can access many of these same resources through the Beaumont Medical Library's Emergency Medicine Resource Guide.
Cases
Toy, Eugene C. Case Files: Emergency Medicine. 4th ed. McGraw-Hill, 2017 [AccessMedicine: Case Files Collection]

Podcast
Emergency Medicine Cases [free] - online medical education podcast out of Canada with case podcasts accompanied with summaries, rapid reviews, and quizzes.
 
Procedures/Multimedia
ClincalKey Procedure Videos - More than 90 videos on emergency medicine topics including many of the clerkship's essential clinical experiences. AccessMedicine Procedures - Emergency Medicine/Intensive Care Procedures
Drug Information
Clinical Pharmacology
A comprehensive drug database used by over 2,000 hospitals, Clinical Pharmacology contains up-to-date, detailed information on thousands of drugs. Its advanced features allows you to run reports on interactions, search by indication and contraindication, check IV compatibility, and print patient information materials.
Micromedex
Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.

Edit

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments |

Kresge Library Building: Open 7:30am - 11pm
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office: Open 8am - 5pm

Hours | Location