OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian - by email Ask a Librarian - by phone Ask a Librarian - in person

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MDM4 9714 - Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine Clerkship

CLERKSHIP TEXTBOOK
Basics of Anesthesia, 7th edition (2018) by Manuel C. Pardo & Ronald D. Miller
DATABASES
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessAnesthesiology
This is a collection of 35 full-text anesthesiology and pain management specialty and sub-specialty textbooks from McGraw-Hill. AccessAnesthesiology also includes procedural videos, calculators, study tools and review questions, patient cases, and patient safety modules. Key eBooks from this collection include:
SUPPLEMENTAL EBOOKS
FOR MEDICAL STUDENTS
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide: A Case-Based Approach (2016) edited by JM Ehrenfeld, RD Urman, & S Segal [Springer]

Anesthesia Unplugged, 2nd edition (2012) by C Gallagher et al. [McGraw-Hill]


GENERAL REFERENCE BOOKS:
The 5 Minute Anesthesia Consult (2013) by N Singh-Radcliff [Wolters Kluwer]

Basics of Anesthesia, 7th edition (2018) by MC Pardo & RD Miller [ClinicalKey]

Bonica's Management of Pain, 4th edition (2010) by SM Fishman, JC Ballantyne, & JP Rathmell [Ovid]

Clinical Anesthesia, 8th edition (2017) by PG Barash et al [Ovid]

Clinical Cases in Anesthesia, 4th edition (2014) by AP Reed & FS Yudkowitz [ClinicalKey]

Miller's Anesthesia, 8th edition (2015) by Ronald Miller [ClinicalKey]

Pain Medicine and Management: Just the Facts, 2nd edition (2015) by Peter Staats & Mark Wallace [McGraw-Hill]

Waldman's Pain Management, 2nd edition (2011) by Steven Waldman [ClinicalKey]


ATLASES:
Atlas of Airway Management: Techniques and Tools (2007) by SL Orebaugh [Ovid]

Atlas of Functional Anatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine Human Structure, Ultrastructure and #D Reconstruction Images (2015) by MA Reina et al [Springer]

Atlas of Image-Guided Intervention in Regional Anesthesia, 1st edition (2006) by JP Rathmell & GJ Nelson [Ovid]

Atlas of Injection Therapy in Pain Management (2012) by Juergen Fischer [Thieme eBook Libary]

Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 4th edition (2015) by Steven Waldman) [ClinicalKey]


Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 4th edition (2017) by Steven Waldman [ClinicalKey]

Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 5th edition (2017) by E Farag, L Mounir-Soliman & DL Brown [ClinicalKey]
OPIOID EPIDEMIC
American Medical Association (AMA). Reversing the Opioid Epidemic includes reports and resources from the AMA Opioid Task Force, links to CME opportunities, and links to the End the Opioid Epidemic website. 

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). Analysis in Brief Report - Addressing the Opioid Epidemic: U.S. Medical School Curricular Approaches.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC). Opioid Overdose covers facts, statistics, and information for patients & providers on opioids.

MedEdPORTAL. Opioids Education Publication Collection highlights curricular interventions targeting medical and health sciences students regarding opioids

National Institute on Drug Abuse. Opioid Overdose Crisis

PBS Frontline. Chasing Heroin (2016) documentary film highlighting the effects of heroin and opioids

PBS. Understanding the Opioid Epidemic (2018) documentary film showcasing the stories of those affected by the opioid crisis.
Library Contact
Picture: Stephanie Swanberg

Stephanie Swanberg
Assistant Professor
swanberg@oakland.edu
248.370.3776

Research Assistance
Ask-a-Medical-Librarian
  • by phone at 248-370-3772
  • via email at medref@oakland.edu
  • in person in the Medical Library Office (7:30am-6:00pm)

Research Consultation
Request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project.
TEST PREP & REVIEW
AccessAnesthesiology includes several study tools and review materials including Anesthesiology Clerkship Review Modules, which covers a number of topics with accompanying review questions.

AccessMedicine Case Files: Anesthesiology includes over 50 clinical cases with accompanying questions on anesthesiology topics.

Anesthesia Secrets, 5e and Pain Management Secrets, 4e - two titles from the popular Secrets review book series.

Multiple Choice Questions in Pain Management (2018) by Rajesh Gupta - review book containing multiple choice questions on a variety of topics related to pain management.
Search PubMed

PubMed Search

 

  MeSH   |   Journals   |   Citation Matcher   |   Entrez


Edit

OUWB Medical Library | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster