OU Libraries
OU Libraries

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MDM4 9734 - Pediatric Sub Internship

Introduction to Guide
This guide pulls together some of the major resources in pediatrics. It includes links to online books, journals, databases, and media for self-directed learning. It's designed to help you "study for your patients."
Recommended Resources from Syllabus
Textbooks

AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care. 2nd ed. 2016

Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Pediatrics. 24th ed. 2018 [AccessMedicine]

Harriet Lane Handbook. 21st ed. 2018. [ClinicalKey]

Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 21st ed. 2020. [Clinical Key]

Red Book: 2018-2021 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases. 31st ed. 2018 [Stat!Ref]

Journals

Pediatrics in Review

Point-of-Care Resource

UpToDate
 
Other Key Books
Many additional pediatrics books are available through the ClinicalKey database, AccessPediatrics, and other sources through the library's catalog.
Cases
Test Prep & Review
For additional exam prep resouces, see our Guide to Review and USMLS Resources
Web Resources
National Initiative for Children's Healthcare Quality (NICHQ)
NICHQ seeks to catalyze a national commitment to improve health care for children, as well as to achieve better outcomes in practices that care for children by developing, testing and deploying new methods to provide and improve care.

PedsCases
Developed by medical students at the University of Alberta with faculty oversight to supplement the undergraduate curriculum. It has grown to include interactive cases, podcasts, videos, and links to other sites with content supplied by physicians and students from across Canada.

 
Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Medical Library Director
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

Procedures/Multimedia
AccessPediatrics Videos - Brief videos on a wide variety of pediatric topics.

Alexander Street Pediatric Videos - Searchable database of videos and lectures on a variety of pediatric topics, including physical assessment.

Bates' Physical Examination Videos
 * Head-to-Toe Assessment: Infant
 * Head-to-Toe Assessment: Child
 * OSCE Clinical Skills Videos - Includes several pediatric cases

ClinicalKey Pediatric Procedures Videos

NEW! Pediatrics Video Abstracts Library - Watch lead authors from major medical institutions present their research published in the journal Pediatrics.
 
Pediatric Databases
AccessPediatrics - This is a collection of 21 full-text pediatric specialty and sub-specialty textbooks from McGraw-Hill, including Rudolph's Pediatrics. AccessPediatrics also includes images, videos, patient education handouts, drug information and self-assessment tools. Recent additions include a Text Question of the Week and Image of the Week.

LWW Health Library - Clerkship Collection: Pediatrics - Collection of key texts and review books specific to the pediatics clerkship including the popular Blueprints and Shelf-Life series. Also inclues self-assessment quizzes and cases.

Pediatric Care Online - A collection of key resources from the AAP including the Red Book, policy statements, webinars, patient education handouts, and much more. NOTE: This is a Beaumont  subscription. To access it remotely, you must log in through https://www.beaumont.edu and use the link on the Beaumont Medical Library web page.

Edit

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments |

Kresge Library Building: Closed
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office: Closed

Hours | Location