OU Libraries
OU Libraries

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MDM4 9820C - Addiction Medicine

Introduction to Guide
This guide pulls together some of the major resources in addiction medicine. It includes links to the recommended textbook and online modules for the elective as well as to other books, journals, databases and media for independent self-directed learning. It's designed to help you "study for your patients."
Recommended Textbook
Other eBooks
Addiction Medicine: Science and Practice. 2nd ed. 2020 [ClinicalKey]

American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology. 5th ed. 2017 [PsychiatryOnline]

American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment. 5th ed. 2014 [PsychiatryOnline]

Assessment and Treatment of Addiction. 2019 [ClinicalKey]

DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. 5th ed. 2013 [PsychiatryOnline]

Substance Abuse Handbook. 2nd ed. 2014 [LWW Health Library: Clerkship/Clinical Rotations] 

Treating Opioid Addiction. 2019 [SpringerLink]

SPECIAL POPULATIONS

American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry
. 5th ed. 2017 [PsychiatryOnline] - Chapter 17: Substance-Related and Addictive Disorders

Clinical Handbook of Adolescent Addiction. 2012 [Wiley Online]

OB/GYN Hospital Medicine Principles and Practice. 2019 [AccessObGyn] - Chapter 48: Opioid Use Disorder in Pregnancy
Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsychiatryOnline
Full-text access to books, journals and guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association, including the DSM-5.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.
Multimedia
There are a number of interesting and relevant videos on addiction in the streaming the library's streaming video subscriptions. Try searching "addiction," "opioid," or other relevant terms.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Alexander Street Video
Search across our streaming video collections from Alexander Street Press, including VAST, Nursing Education in Video, and World Newsreels Online.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Psychotherapy.net
A streaming video collection of over 50 videos featuring demonstrations of psychotherapy and counseling sessions, covering a wide range of modalities, populations, and approaches.
Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Medical Library Director
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

Online Modules
PCSS (Providers Clinical Support System) - SUD 101 Core Curriculum - Comprising 22 modules, this free self-paced course provides an overview of evidence-based practices in the prevention, identification, and treatment of substance use disorders and co-occurring mental disorders.

Waiver Training for Medical Students - 8-hour training module for medical students who wish to eventually apply for a waiver to prescribe buprenophine for the treatment of opioid use disorders. After completing this training, students should maintain their certificate for their records and apply for their waiver once they have their full DEA license. See intructions here.
 
Drug Information
Clinical Pharmacology
A comprehensive drug database used by over 2,000 hospitals, Clinical Pharmacology contains up-to-date, detailed information on thousands of drugs. Its advanced features allows you to run reports on interactions, search by indication and contraindication, check IV compatibility, and print patient information materials.
Micromedex
Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.
Clinical Databases
DynaMed Plus
Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. DynaMed Plus is a major upgrade to the DynaMed system and includes an improved search interface, thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
UpToDate
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, OB/GYN, and surgical topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions.
Patient Care for SUD, Mental Illness, Chronic Pain During COVID-19

From the AMA, collection of resources addressing SUD topics from major government agencies and professional organizations. Covers such issues as prescribing controlled substances via telemedicine, co-prescribing naloxone, and more. 

Edit

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments |

Kresge Library Building: 7:30am - 11pm (7:30am - 8:30am for at-risk groups only)
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office: Open 8am - 5pm

Hours | Location