OU Libraries
OU Libraries

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MDM4 9984D - COVID-19/Pandemic Elective

Recommended Module

This online module is highly recommended. The site will issue you a certificate upon successful completion.

American Association of Clinical Chemistry (AACC) Learning Lab. Coronarvirus 2019. Developed by leading scientists, this online course covers coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) transmission, complications, diagnosis, and more. This course is free, but please note that you will need to create a new login to access it even if you are already a Learning Lab subscriber.
Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Map
Databases for Locating Journal Articles
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. LitCovid is a subset of articles in PubMed on the topic. It is updated daily; articles are categorized by topic and geographic location.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.
Unrestricted Resource WHO COVID-19 Database

Multinational, multi-lingual database of citations to the research literature on the Corona Virus and COVID-19 from the World Health Organization (WHO).

Key Textbooks
Special Collections - Coronavirus

Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center - From a major STEM publisher, here you will find expert, curated information for the research and health community on SARS-CoV-2 (the novel coronavirus) and COVID-19 (the disease). Information has also been "packaged" into a useful COVID-19 Clinical Toolkit format, organized by outpatient & emergency care, inpatient care, and intensive care. All resources are free to access.

JAMA Coronavirus Resource Center - Updated daily with new articles, infographics, multimedia, and links to important information from the CDC and WHO. All articles are free to the public. The site also includes useful information for patients.

NEJM Coronavirus (Covid-19) Topic Page - Collection of articles and other resources on the outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. Freely available.


 
Agencies & Organizations
American Medical Association (AMA) - Covid-19 Resource Center for Physicians - Daily updates, links to essential tools and resources for physicians.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Coronavirus (COVID-19) page - Resources for individuals, the community, and healthcare providers. Also provides updates on cases, advisories, and breaking news.

Michigan Department of Health & Human Services (MHDHHS) - Coronavirus Information page

World Health Organization (WHO) - Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Pandemic page - Provides global perspective. Links to information for consumers and healthcare providers, including videos and online training.

NEW  Apple | CDC Screening Tool - Designed by Apple with the CDC for people to determine whether they need to be screened and next steps.
 
Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Medical Library Director
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

COVID-19 Infodemic
CoronaVirusFacts Alliance 

The World Health Organization classified the rampant spread of misinformation about the novel coronavirus “an infodemic.” This alliance fights against it.

Led by the International Fact-Checking Network (IFCN) at the Poynter Institute, more than 100 fact checkers around the globe now contribute to a database of fact checks. With more than 3,000 fact checks from more than 70 countries translated into more than three dozen languages, the organization describes the effort as “the largest collaborative fact-checking project ever.”

Point of Care Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff DynaMed Plus
Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, OB/GYN, and surgical topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions.
Drug Information
Clinical Pharmacology
A comprehensive drug database used by over 2,000 hospitals, Clinical Pharmacology contains up-to-date, detailed information on thousands of drugs. Its advanced features allows you to run reports on interactions, search by indication and contraindication, check IV compatibility, and print patient information materials.
Micromedex
Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.
CDC COVID-19 News

Loading ...

Current Map

The CRAAP Test - Developed by the Meriam Library, California State University

Searching for information on a very current or controversial topic can result in a large number of "hits" of uneven quality.

You will have to determine the quality of the information you find, and the CRAAP Test can help.

The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your situation or need.

Evaluation Criteria

Currency: The timeliness of the information.

  • When was the information published or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or updated?
  • Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?
  • Are the links functional?

Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is the one you will use?
  • Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?

Authority: The source of the information.

  • Who is the author / publisher / source / sponsor?
  • What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
  • Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source (examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net)?

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
  • Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?

Purpose: The reason the information exists.

  • What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
  • Do the authors / sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
  • Is the information fact, opinion or propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?

 PDF Version of CRAAP Test pdf 

Revised from "Is this source or information good?" Accessed 3/27/2020. https://library.csuchico.edu/help/source-or-information-good

CRAAP Test Video - by OU librarian Beth Wallis
Other Helpful Evaluation Tools
Critical Appraisal Worksheets from JAMAEvidence - Put your EBM skills to work to appraise the validity of individual articles!

From the University of Waterloo, Center for Teaching Excellence

Self-Directed Learning: A Four-Step Process
Learning independently can be challenging, even for the brightest and most motivated students. As a means of better understanding the processes involved in this mode of study, this Teaching Tip outlines key components of four key stages to independent learning, known as self-directed learning: being ready to learn, setting learning goals, engaging in the learning process, and evaluating learning.

Step 1: Assess readiness to learn
Students need various skills and attitudes towards learning for successful independent study. This step involves students conducting a self-evaluation of their current situation, study habits, family situation, and support network both at school and at home and also involves evaluating past experiences with independent learning. For a detailed Learning Skills Assessment Tool, read our Readiness to Learn Teaching Tip. Signs of readiness for self-directed learning include being autonomous, organised, self-disciplined, able to communicate effectively, and able to accept constructive feedback and engage in self-evaluation and self­-reflection.

Step 2: Set learning goals
Communication of learning goals between a student and the advising instructor is critical. We've developed a set of questions for students to consider as they map out their learning goals: our Unit Planning Decision Guide). Also critical in developing a clear understanding of learning goals between students and instructors are learning contracts. Learning contracts generally include:
  • Goals for the unit of study
  • Structure and sequence of activities
  • Timeline for completion of activities
  • Details about resource materials for each goal
  • Details about grading procedures
  • Feedback and evaluation as each goal is completed
  • Meeting plan with the advising instructor
  • Agreement of unit policies, such as a policy on late assignments
Once created, contracts should be assessed by the advising faculty member and questions about feasibility should be raised (e.g., What could go wrong? Is there too much or too little work? Is the timeline and evaluation reasonable?).

Step 3: Engage in the learning process
Students need to understand themselves as learners in order to understand their needs as self-directed learning students — referring students to our resource on learning preferences may be helpful. Students should also consider answering the following questions:
  • What are my needs re: instructional methods?
  • Who was my favourite teacher? Why?
  • What did they do that was different from other teachers? Students should reflect on these questions throughout their program and substitute “teacher” with “advising instructor”
Students also need to understand their approach to studying:
  • A deep approach to studying involves transformation and is ideal for self-directed learning. This approach is about understanding ideas for yourself, applying knowledge to new situations and using novel examples to explain a concept, and learning more than is required for unit completion.
  • A surface approach involves reproduction: coping with unit requirements, learning only what is required to complete a unit in good standing, and tending to regurgitate examples and explanations used in readings.
  • A strategic approach involves organization: achieving the highest possible grades, learning what is required to pass exams, memorizing facts, and spending time practicing from past exams.
Earlier academic work may have encouraged a surface or strategic approach to studying. These approaches will not be sufficient (or even appropriate) for successful independent study. Independent study requires a deep approach to studying, in which students must understand ideas and be able to apply knowledge to new situations. Students need to generate their own connections and be their own motivators.

Step 4: Evaluate learning
For students to be successful in self-directed learning, they must be able to engage in self-reflection and self-evaluation of their learning goals and progress in a unit of study. To support this self-evaluation process, they should:
  • regularly consult with the advising instructor,
  • seek feedback, and
  • engage in reflection of their achievements, which involves asking:
    • How do I know I’ve learned?
    • Am I flexible in adapting and applying knowledge?
    • Do I have confidence in explaining material?
    • When do I know I’ve learned enough?
    • When is it time for self-reflection and when is it time for consultation with the advising faculty member?
Responsibilities in the four-step process
Successful independent study requires certain responsibilities or roles of both students and advising faculty members. The following is a brief list of the more important roles. It is useful for both students and advising faculty members to periodically review this list and communicate as to whether each feels the other is fulfilling their share of the responsibility.

Students’ roles
  • Self-assess your readiness to learn
  • Define your learning goals and develop a learning contract
  • Monitor your learning process
  • Take initiative for all stages of the learning process — be self-motivated 
  • Re-evaluate and alter goals as required during your unit of study
  • Consult with your advising instructor as required
Advising instructors’ roles
  • Build a co-operative learning environment
  • Help to motivate and direct the students’ learning experience
  • Facilitate students’ initiatives for learning
  • Be available for consultations as appropriate during the learning process
  • Serve as an advisor rather than a formal instructor

Resources
CTE teaching tips Other resources
  • Graves, N. (Ed.) (1993). Learner managed learning: Practice, theory, and policy. Leeds: AW Angus & Co. Limited.
  • Hammond, M. & Collins, R. (1991). Self-directed learning: Critical practice. London: Kogan Page Limited.
  • Hiemstra, R. Self-directed web portal.
  • Kim, R., Olfman, L., Ryan, T., & Eryilmaz, E. (2014). Leveraging a personalized system to improve self-directed learning in online educational environmentsComputers & Education, 70, 150-160.
  • Knowles, M. (1986). Using learning contracts: Practical approaches to individualizing and structuring learning. London: Jossey-Bass Publications.
  • Simpson, O. (2000). Supporting students in open and distant learning. London: Kogan Page Limited. 
  • Tait, J. & Knight, P. (1996). The management of independent learning. London: Kogan Page Limited.

  Self-Directed Learning: A Four-Step Process. Centre for Teaching Excellence, University of Waterloo.
 

Edit

OUWB Medical Library, Oakland University | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments |

Kresge Library Building: Open 8am - 8pm
OU ID needed midnight - 7am
Medical Library Office: Open 8am - 5pm

Hours | Location