OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian - by email Ask a Librarian - by phone Ask a Librarian - in person

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MDM3 9512 - Internal Medicine Clerkship

Recommended Textbooks
  • Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 12th edition by Jameson, J.L., et al. New York: McGraw-Hill Education; 2018. [OUWB & BHS e-book available on AccessMedicine]
  • Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 25th edition by Goldman, L., Andrew I. Schafer, A.I. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier/Saunders; 2016.  [OUWB & BHS e-book available on Clinical Key]
  • IM Essentials Text: a Medical Knowledge Self-Assessment Program  (MKSAP) for Students, by Masters, P.A. Philadelphia, PA: American College of Physicians; 2015. [Available at OUWB Medical Library Study Room; Call Number: R 839 .I62 2015]
  • IM Essentials Questions: a Medical Knowledge Self-Assessment Program (MKSAP) for Students, by Masters, P.A. Philadelphia, PA: American College of Physicians; 2015. [Available at OUWB Medical Library Study Room; Call Number: R 839 .I6 2015]
Review & Study Materials
  • Case Files: Internal Medicine via AccessMedicine
  • Clerkship/Clinical Rotations  - a collection of review material (e.g., self-assessment quizzes), clinical cases, and key textbooks (Boards and Wards, the EKGBook, STEP-UP to USMLE Step 2 CK, etc.) [OUWB e-books available on LWW Health Library]
  • Bluebprints Medicine, 6th edition by Young, V.B., et al. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer health; 2016. [OUWB e-Book available on LWW Health Library]
  • Medical Secrets, 5th edition by Harward, M.P. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier/Mosby; 2012. [OUWB e-Book available on ClinicalKey]
  • Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK, 4th edition by Jenkins, B., et al. Philadephia: Wolters Kluwer; 2016. [OUWB e-book available on LWW Health Library]
  • USMLE Easy - a question bank to prepare for Step 1 and Step 2 (free for OUWB students; user registration required)
Other Books
Diagnosis
DDX (Diagnosaurus)
AccessMedince > Quick Reference > Diagnosaurus

Guide to Diagnostic Tests
AccessMedince > Quick Reference > Guide to Diagnostic Tests

QMDT (Quick Medicine Diagnosis & Treatment)
AccessMedicine > Quick Reference > QMDT (Quick Medicine Diagnosis & Treatment)

The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis via JAMAEvidence

 
Drug Information
Databases
  • Clinical Pharmacology - a comprehensive drug database for drugs, interactions, reactions, and more
  • ClinicalKey - contains drug monographs summarizing information on drug dosing, interactions, classification, and more
  • Micromedex - a collection of databases for full-text, detailed information on drugs, drug interactions and comparison, IV compatibility, Red Book, toxicology, and diseases
  • Natural Medicines - a database for information on dietary supplements, natural medicine, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies
  • Drug Interactions via UpToDate - drug-durg, drug-herb, and herb-herb analysis tool
Resources Free on the Internet
  • A to Z List of Cancer Drugs from the NIH National Cancer Institute - contains summaries of consumer-friendly information on cancer drugs and drug combinations
  • Drug Inforamtion via MedlinePlus from the NIH National Library of Medicine - drug information for health consumers
  • FDA U.S. Food & Drug - regulartory information on drugs, medical devices, and more 
Procedures
Procedures
Tests
Cases
Reference Tools
Clinical Prep - access to thousands of clinical questions and answers. To access Clinical Prep, click on "Quick Reference" on the top menu and choose Clinical Prep

2 Minute Medicine - Daily literature reports, concise, curated, and authoritative medical reports of breaking medical literature as well as seminal studies in medicine. To access "2 Minute Medicine," click on "Quick Reference" on the top menu and choose "2 Minute Medicine." 
Calculators
Learning and Practicing EBM
  • JAMA Evidence - access to the full content of the books Users' Guides to the Medical Literature, The Rational Clinical Examination, guides on critical appraisal of clinical research evidence, podcasts of core EBM issues, calculators, and many more
Finding the Evidence
Searching for Summaries of Evidence
  • DynaMed Plus  - a clinical information resource or reference tool providing concise summaries of current clinical research evidence 
  • UpToDate  - a clinical decision support resource providing reviews of current clinical research evidence
  • ACP Journal Club via Annals of Internal Medicine - syntheses and synopses of clinical evidence
Searching for Systematic Reviews of Evidence
Searching for Primary Studies (Databases)
  • Embase - preclinical, medical, and pharmacological literature 
  • PubMed - biomedical and life science literature
Free EBM Resources 
  • TRIP (Turning Research into Practice): a free search engine fro EBM resources
  • ACCESSSS Federated Search: searching a number of high-quality EBM resources simultaneously (registration required)
Multimedia Learning Resources
Videos
Nutrition and Environmental Resources
Geriatric Care
Patient Education
Communicating with Patients
Other Web Resources
  • ChooseMyPlate.gov - information promoting the nutrition and well-being of Americans
  • Laboratory Tests via MedlinePlus from the U.S. National Library of Medicine - information resources for health consumers to understand laboratory tests
  • Your Disease Risk - assess your risk for cancers and other  key diseases
Library Contact
Picture: Misa Mi

Misa Mi
Associate Professor
mi@oakland.edu
248.370.3774

Office: 130 Kresge Library Medical Library Office
Office hours: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Edit

OUWB Medical Library | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-3772
Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster