OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MGT 4350 - Management Strategies & Policies

Company Information
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Factiva
Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva.com combines more than 28,000 sources to give users access to premium content from 159 countries in 22 languages.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Online
Financial data on US and international publicly traded firms; includes annual reports, SEC filings, news, and other information. Limited to 7 users at a time. Log off after using!

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information and more.
Industry Information
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff IBISWorld
Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports. 
There are sections in IBISWorld reports that map to Porter's Five Forces.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks - There are industry reports from "First Research" here.  Watch this tutorial video on how to find them.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database
International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.
Country Research
These resources should be used to get an understanding of a country -- particularly doing business in that country.  They are also good sources for identifying macroeconomic trends that might affect a given business.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine  - Get a PESTLE report for a given country.  Just limit your search to "Country Profiles".

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database  - Search for "Business Dynamics" + the name of a country in order to find a business centric country report.
Latest Trends
Articles can offer the latest on what is happening in a specific industry or at the macro level, i.e. economic, social, political, and technological trends. Get started, paying special attention to trade publications:
  These databases utilize boolean operators.  View this cheat sheet for more information.
Library Contact
Picture: Shawn McCann

Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456

Available: W 2-4pm
& Th 10-11am
Book appointment
Functional Units Lookup
Encyclopedia of Business - lookup a functional unit in this online ebook resource.
Economic & Consumer Data

DemographicsNow
Access to demographic and consumer data like the census, consumer expenditure survey, and simmons national consumer survey

Data.gov
A gateway to the US Governments Open Data

Economic Briefing Room
Major economic indicators collected in one place and updated as they are released.

American FactFinder - US Census
Offers access to demographic, housing, and economic data.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database
International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.

American Customer Satisfaction Index
Satisfaction scores by industry and by company.

Bloomberg Terminals
 The Business Data Analysis Lab (327 Elliot Hall) provides access to Bloomberg Terminals.  These terminals provide real time access to financial market data and news.  They may be useful for your project.  Below are some tutorials to help you find specific information through the terminals:
Library and Other Resources
Below are some suggested resources for the Baldwin Center and BackBeat projects.  If you struggle with finding the information you need, please don't hesitate to contact me (Shawn McCann).  I'm happy to help.  You can find my contact info to the left.  Email is the best way to reach me.  Good luck on your projects!
Library Contact
Picture: Shawn McCann

Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456

Available: W 2-4pm
& Th 10-11am
Book appointment
Baldwin Case Resources
Google Search Tips:
1. Use quotation marks around words to find that exact phrase. Ex:
  • "homeless shelter"
  • "arizona self sufficiency"
  • "poverty" - NOTE: using quotes around a single work will ensure that it shows up in your results
2. Use filetype: to find a specific kind of file.  Using this to limit to PDFs is a good way to find reports online. EX:
  • filetype:pdf - this will return only pdf files in your search results
  • filetype:doc - this will return word documents
  • filetype:ppt - this returns powerpoint presentations
  • get a full list of filetypes here.
3. Use site: to limit your results to webpages on specific site or domain
  • site:cnn.com - this would return only results from CNN
  • site:.gov - this would return only results from government websites
Ebook Resources

Nonprofit Management Everything You Need to Know About Managing Your Organization Explained Simply

Nonprofit management 101 a complete and practical guide for leaders and professionals
Finding Partners

Nonprofit Explorer - Find other nonprofit organizations by keyword and state.

Mergent Intellect  - FInd business and other organizations by geography and other characteristics.

Explore the local area

DemographicsNow
Provides access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or neighborhood level to identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Thanks to MeL.

Find Industry Reports

IBISWorld  - Some relevant reports might include "After School Program Providers" and "Children's Fitness Centers" and "Civic, Social & Youth Organizations"

Research and Articles

ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks

Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Social Work Abstracts
Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Backbeat Case Resources
Google Search Tips:
1. Use quotation marks around words to find that exact phrase. Ex:
  • "homeless shelter"
  • "arizona self sufficiency"
  • "poverty" - NOTE: using quotes around a single work will insure that it shows up in your results
2. Use filetype: to find a specific kind of file.  Using this to limit to PDFs is a good way to find reports online. EX:
  • filetype:pdf - this will return only pdf files in your search results
  • filetype:doc - this will return word documents
  • filetype:ppt - this returns powerpoint presentations
  • get a full list of filetypes here.
3. Use site: to limit your results to webpages on specific site or domain
  • site:cnn.com - this would return only results from CNN
  • site:.gov - this would return only results from government websites
Industry Information

IBISWorld  - try keyword search.  Some relevant reports might include "musical instrument and supplies" and "musical instrument manufacturing".

ABI/Inform Complete  - type keywords into the first box and in the second box type "first research" and set it to search "publication title".  This will bring up the First Research industry reports

Consumer Research

DemographicsNow  - check out the MOSAIC market segmentation reports.  The simmons and consumer expenditure data could be useful too.

Company Research

MarketLine  - search by company name to find information on competitors.

Mergent Online - search for companies to get reports or generate lists of competitors.

Factiva  - research competitor and get the latest news on a company or topic.

Research and Articles

ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks - general business database with news, research articles, reports and other sources.

Factiva  - news and business resource with access to 1000s of newspapers from around the world.

Business Source Elite  - another general business database.  It is not as robust as ABI/Inform though.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News