OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MKT 3000 - Survey of Marketing

Information about Markets and Industries
To learn about the industry you are dealing with, please consider using each of the sources below. They give you different reports and downloadable data. The annotations for each source highlight what you can find in it.
  • IBISWorld
    Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete  - This Business database contains Industry reports from First Research by Dun and Bradstreet.  To find them be sure to include "First Research" in your search.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
    Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database
    International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.
Information about Consumers

The following resources can help you find information on consumers.  
 

  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel DemographicsNow
    Provides access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or neighborhood level to identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Thanks to MeL. Get data and statistics including basic demographics, purchasing habits, attitudes, and market segments
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PolicyMap
    This resource is a U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty.  Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
Finding Articles
Articles can a useful when you want to learn more about a topic or trend. You can use the following resources to learn more about Generation Z. To get the most out the following article databases, please watch their Youtube Video Tutorials.
  • ABI/Inform Complete
    This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks
  • Factiva
    Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva.com combines more than 28,000 sources to give users access to premium content from 159 countries in 22 languages.
Company Information
 Company profiles contain a variety of information about a company ranging from company history and financials to market share and SWOT analyses.  The following library resources are good places to find company profiles.

MarketLine - Seach by company name to bring up an in-depth company profile that even includes a SWOT for most companies.  Be sure to limit the search to "companies" in the drop down for better results.

Mergent Online  - Search by company name or ticker to bring up a company profile.  Great place for financials, competitor lists, reports, histories, sec filings, etc.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information and more.

ABI/Inform Complete - Find "canadean" company reports on a company in this resource. There are two search boxes.  Put your company name in one, and write "canadean" in the second.  Set the second search box to search "publication title" so you can find the Canadean Company Reports.
Library Contact
Picture: Shawn McCann

Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456

Available: W 2-4pm
& Th 10-11am
Book appointment
Ask A Librarian - Chat


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News