OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MKT 302 - Marketing

Company Information
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Business Insights: Global
Access to company and industry profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and periodicals. Thanks to MeL

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
Access to financial and business information for specific companies, as well as news articles.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Online
Financial data on US and international publicly traded firms; includes annual reports, SEC filings, news, and other information. Limited to 7 users at a time. Log off after using!

Yahoo Finance - Business and financial information from Yahoo

Google Finance - Gateway to business and financial information on Google
Information about Markets and Industries
To learn about the industry you are dealing with, please consider using each of the sources below. They give you different reports and downloadable data. The annotations for each source highlight what you can find in it.
  • IBISWorld
    Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
    Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database
    International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.

Information about Consumers

The following resources can help you find information on consumers.  

  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel DemographicsNow
    Get data and statistics including basic demographics, purchasing habits, attitudes, and market segments.
  • Landscape Market Segmentation Manual - This PDF provides descriptions of many different market segments (as defined by CIVICTechnologies).  Use it to refine your understanding of possible segments of Generation Z
Finding Articles
Articles can a useful when you want to learn more about a topic or trend. You can use the following resources to learn more about Generation Z. To get the most out the following article databases, please watch their Youtube Video Tutorials.
  • ABI/Inform Complete
    This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
    Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Writing a Marketing Plan
 If you need help with writing a Marketing Plan, consider searching the library for book or ebook on the subject.  For instance, the library has access ot the ebook:

High Impact Marketing that Works

This book has an entire chapter on Writing a Marketing Plan:

Read the Chapter Here: Chapter 02 Writing a Marketing Plan
Library Contact
Picture: Shawn McCann

Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456

Office Hrs: W 2-4pm
Book appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News