OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MKT 4040 - Consumer Behavior

Industry Information
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff IBISWorld
Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports. 
There are sections in IBISWorld reports that map to Porter's Five Forces.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks - There are industry reports from "First Research" here.  Watch this tutorial video on how to find them.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database
International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.
Markets & Consumers
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database
Includes international industry statistics; demographic and consumer spending data; income and expenditure reports by country.

Statista - a site offering some free access to various consumer and market data.

DemographicsNow
Provides access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or neighborhood level to identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Thanks to MeL.

Marketwatch - free online source for market share info.

American FactFinder - US Census
Offers access to demographic, housing, and economic data.

 
Articles & News

Because consumer behavior research incorporates many disciplines - e.g., psychology, sociology, marketing, etc. - try searching a number of the databases listed below for articles on the topic or theory that you are interested in.

When you find a relevant article, use the Get It! feature to get the full text - preferrably in PDF format.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
    Articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers - mostly full-text articles
     
  • Factiva
    Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva.com combines more than 28,000 sources to give users access to premium content from 159 countries in 22 languages.
     
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
    Allows you to see who has cited an article after its publication.
     
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
    Articles from psychology and related disciplines. Allows you to see the references of articles and who has cited many of them 

Additional Recommendations:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Management & Organization Studies: SAGE Full Text
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded
 
Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...

Search by title, author...

Library Contact
Picture: Shawn McCann

Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456

Available: W 2-4pm
& Th 10-11am
Book appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Your References
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Format your paper and references pdf (see handout).

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News