OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MKT 460 - Entrepreneurial Marketing

Welcome
This guide contains resources for MKT 460.  It is split into four categories: Industry Information, Economic and Consumer Information, Company Information, General Information.  My contact information is located to the right.  Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or need assistance with using any of the below resources.  It is best to email me and I will respond within 24 hours.
Library Contact
Picture: Shawn McCann

Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456

Office Hrs: W 2-4pm
Book appointment
Industry Information

IBISWorld:

This database features industry reports for a long list of US Industries. It contains reports for the NAICS based industries as well as a wealth of custom industry reports. The reports are very in-depth and can be downloaded as pdfs. Additionally, the reports contain industry statistics that can be downloaded as excel files. This short video can get you started:

MarketLine:
Industry reports in this database cover many different countries. To find US industry reports do a keyword search and use the geography limits that appear on the right hand side of the results page. Here is a short tutorial video  to get you started

ABI/Inform:
This resource offers access to industry reports from First Research.  They are in-depth reports that include industry statistics.  Finding these industry reports in this database is tricky. Do a keyword search for the industry name, include "first research" as a publisher, and finally in the "document type" box check off "industry report". Then complete your search. Watch a short how-to video.

Economic and Consumer Information

DemographicsNow
Demographic, expenditure, and other consumer data available as customizable reports.

American FactFinder - US Census
Offers access to demographic, housing, and economic data.

Consumer Expenditure Survey 
Average annual expenditures by consumer characteristics (age, income, ethnicity, etc.)

Economic Census
Business activity at the national and local level.

County Business Patterns (CBP)
Subnational economic data by industry


Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS has data on employment, unemployment, and consumer spending.

Data.gov
Repository for many types of government data

Global Market Information Database
International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information.

Company Information
 Company profiles contain a variety of information about a company ranging from company history and financials to market share and SWOT analyses.  The following library resources are good places to find company profiles.

MarketLine - Seach by company name to bring up an in-depth company profile that even includes a SWOT for most companies.  Be sure to limit the search to "companies" in the drop down for better results.

Business Insights: Global - Fairly robust company profiles; often includes financials, SWOTs, market share info, and company histories.  Just search for a company by name in the search box.

ABI/Inform Complete - This database contains Canadean Company Reports which feature SWOT and financial analyses of companies as well as information like company history and key employees.  The reports can be found by doing an advanced search with the company name limited to title and "canadean" limited to publisher.

LexisNexis Academic Universe - a bit difficult to use but it contains valuable information especially if you're looking for current news or legal information about a company.  Search via the "get company info" box located on the bottom right of the main page.
General Information (Articles and News)
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
Articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
A good source for current news as well as company information.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Consumer behavior articles. You can search by measures used in studies.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Business Source Elite
Articles from journals and magazines; market research reports, etc.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News