LIBRARY GUIDE TO MKT 4900 - Seminar in Marketing

This guide contains resources for MKT 4900.  It is split into four categories: Industry Information, Economic and Consumer Information, Company Information, General Information.  My contact information is located to the right.  Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or need assistance with any of the below resources.  It is best to email me, and I will respond within 24 hours.

These resources provide in-depth industry reports which can help you with the Environmental Analysis, PESTLE Analysis portions of your project.

IBISWorld:

This database features industry reports for a long list of US Industries. It contains reports for the NAICS based industries as well as a wealth of custom industry reports. The reports are very in-depth and can be downloaded as pdfs. Additionally, the reports contain industry statistics that can be downloaded as excel files. This short video can get you started. 

MarketLine:
Industry reports in this database cover many different countries. To find US industry reports do a keyword search and use the geography limits that appear on the right hand side of the results page. Here is a short tutorial video  to get you started. 

ABI/Inform:
This resource offers access to industry reports from First Research.  They are in-depth reports that include industry statistics.  Finding these industry reports in this database is tricky. Do a keyword search for the industry name, include "first research" as a publisher, and finally in the "document type" box check off "industry report". Then complete your search. Watch a short how-to video.

These resources will help you with the Market Analysis, PESTLE Analysis, and Environmental Analysis.

DemographicsNow
Provides access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or neighborhood level to identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Thanks to MeL.Demographic, expenditure, and other consumer data available as customizable reports.  This resource also contains the Mosaic Market Segments Reports from Experian as well as data from the National Consumer Survey conducted by Simmons.

PolicyMap
This resource is a U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty.  Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.

ESRI Tapestry Segmentation
Market Segmentation by the ArcGIS people.  Lookup a zip code to find segments.?

GMID: Global Market Information Database
International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information. 

American FactFinder - US Census
Offers access to demographic, housing, and economic data.

Data.gov
Repository for many types of government data

 Company profiles contain a variety of information about a company ranging from company history and financials to market share and SWOT analyses.  The following library resources are good places to find company profiles.

MarketLine - Seach by company name to bring up an in-depth company profile that even includes a SWOT for most companies.  Be sure to limit the search to "companies" in the drop down for better results.

Mergent Online  - Search by company name or ticker to bring up a company profile.  Great place for financials, competitor lists, reports, histories, sec filings, etc.
 

Factiva  - Huge source for news and current events from around the world.

ABI/Inform Complete
Articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers.

PsycINFO
Consumer behavior articles. You can search by measures used in studies.

Business Source Elite
Articles from journals and magazines; market research reports, etc.