OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO MKT 6730 - Product and Brand Management

Industry Information
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff IBISWorld
Detailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports. 
There are sections in IBISWorld reports that map to Porter's Five Forces.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ABI/Inform Complete
This database includes about 80% full-text articles from the business press, trade publications, academic journals, and newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal). It is a great starting point for articles on broad business topics. How to export to RefWorks - There are industry reports from "First Research" here.  Watch this tutorial video on how to find them.

 
Company Information
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MarketLine
Includes company and industry reports, country profiles, as well as market data and country statistics.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Factiva
Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva.com combines more than 28,000 sources to give users access to premium content from 159 countries in 22 languages.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Online
Financial data on US and international publicly traded firms; includes annual reports, SEC filings, news, and other information. Limited to 7 users at a time. Log off after using!

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information and more.
Consumer and Demographic Research
 These resources contain demographic information and statistics.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel DemographicsNow
    Provides access to demographic data. Drill down to the city or neighborhood level to identify markets and audiences in your community. Ideal for supporting small business and local economic development activities. Thanks to MeL.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PolicyMap
    This resource is a U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty.  Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Global Market Information Database
    International socioconomic data, including industry statistics, consumer behavior statistics, and country information. 
Latest Trends
Articles can offer the latest on what is happening in a specific industry or at the macro level, i.e. economic, social, political, and technological trends. Get started, paying special attention to trade publications:
  These databases utilize boolean operators.  View this cheat sheet for more information.
Try your research skills
After exploring the resources on the right, see if you can utlize them to complete the:
 

MKT 6730
Scavenger Hunt

Library Contact
Picture: Shawn McCann

Shawn McCann
Assistant Professor
mccann@oakland.edu
248.370.2456

Available: Virtually by Appointment
Book appointment
Ask A Librarian - Chat


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News