OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Modern Languages

Online dictionaries
Lexicool
"Primarily a directory of "all" the online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet. " You can search for general or specialized dictionaries in the language of your choice. Also contains cool gadgets like the Lexibar, a small toolbar which gives rapid access to special characters not always available on your keyboard. The site is run by an international team of linguists and IT specialists.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language. This dictionary covers English words from 1150 CE to present, and provides etymology and quotations illustrating usage.
Literature and literary criticism
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Companions
Offers introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Humanities Full Text
Here you'll find articles, book reviews, and interviews dealing with literature, movies, journalism, dance, and communication. 1984 to present. How to export to RefWorks.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Historical survey of the most important critics and theorists, critical schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism. Includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries, including the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Includes over 200 journals in language and literature with full text access. No coverage of the most recent issues.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Good selection of journals in literature. Generally covers recent issues all the way to the present.

Linguistics

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA contains abstracts and indexes to the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage: 1973 - current. 

History

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Sciences Full Text

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE

Both JSTOR and Project Muse include journals in most disciplines of history and the social sciences, such as anthropology, folklore and political science. Also journals in Asian, Latin American, Middle East and Slavic studies.

For other sources, see related subject guides.
Images
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. See their guide to language and literature materials.

Europeana
Digital library of European museums, archives, libraries and audio-visual collections

Translation
 
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

News media
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe . Provides full text access to numerous magazines and newspapers in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Dutch and Portuguese.

  
Easy access to the latest articles from the main newspapers and magazines in Europe.

Other sources

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Japan Knowledge Plus
Includes some full-text periodicals.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Informe! en Espanol
Includes images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks
ICON: links to online collections of historical newspapers from European countries


RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Library Contact
Picture: Dominique Daniel

Dominique Daniel
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
daniel@oakland.edu
248.370.2478

On sabbatical fall 2017.
Contact the research help desk

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News