OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Music, Theatre and Dance

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Art Full-Text
Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Provides indexing coverage of the journal literature in the arts and humanities, including literature, music and film studies. Provides information on who has cited a researcher's work. Coverage: 1975 - present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Grove Music Online
A peerless compendium of information about music and musicians of all periods and places. Limit 4 users.
note: Now called Oxford Music Online.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Humanities Full Text
Here you'll find articles, book reviews, and interviews dealing with literature, movies, journalism, dance, and communication. 1984 to present. How to export to RefWorks.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff InfoTrac: Fine Arts and Music Collection
Powered by InfoTrac, this database quickly places information from over 5 million articles at the finger tips of arts researchers. More than 150 of the journals in the Fine Arts & Music Collection are covered in the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) indexes and are available in full-text.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Historical survey of the most important critics and theorists, critical schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism. Includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries, including the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Music Index
Includes articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.; also includes book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff NAXOS Music Library
A collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 262,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.

8 concurrent users at one time. If the limit has been reached, you may see a login screen. This indicates that you should try again later.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff NAXOS Video Library
An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

8 concurrent users at one time. If the limit has been reached, you may see a login screen. This indicates that you should try again later.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford Music Online
A peerless compendium of information about music and musicians of all periods and places. Limit 4 users. Please logout when done.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text access to the content from over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences. How to export to RefWorks

Library Contact
Picture: Katie Greer

Katie Greer
Associate Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News