OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Music

MUSIC SCORES ONLINE
LIBRARY SUBSCRIPTION RESOURCES
Classical Scores Library: Vol I - IV
Encompasses all major classical musical genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary. Contains full, study, piano, and vocal scores, and will provide valuable source material for teachers and students of music history, performance, appreciation, and theory.

FREE RESOURCES
International Music Score Library Project -- A community-built library of public domain sheet music. Extensive collection of original scores scanned to PDF.

Choral Public Domain Library -- A repository of music in the public domain.

Early Music Online -- Many of the British Library's rare or unique 16th-century music editions are available here; includes more than 300 anthologies of printed music from the 16th century.

Eastman School fof Music -- Online Musical Scores

Harvard Loeb -- Digital Scores and Libretti

New York Philharmonic -- Digital Archives
SOUND RECORDINGS ONLINE


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Contemporary World Music
Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff NAXOS Music Library -- A collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 262,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.

Cultural Equity -- Digital Archive of the recordings made by ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. 

http://www.loc.gov/jukebox/ -- National Jukebox -- Library of Congress

Robert Marcellus Master Class Audio Archives -- Recordings of master classes by American clarinetist and teacher Robert Marcellus, courtesy of Northwestern University.

Smithosonian Folkways -- Smithsonian Folkways Recordings is the nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, the national museum of the United States. We are dedicated to supporting cultural diversity and increased understanding among peoples through the documentation, preservation, and dissemination of sound. 
VIDEOS ONLINE
Kanopy Streaming Video
The Kanopy collection offers a broad selection of feature films, documentaries, foreign language, and training videos. Removed 12-17-18

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff NAXOS Video Library -- An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. (8 concurrent users at one time.)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff VAST: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search.
Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Music Index -- A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring content from 1970 to present. Indexes articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR -- A source of full-text academic journals, this database includes 86 music journals as well as journals from a variety of other disciplines.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE -- Includes full text of 14 music journals,  limited in scope but includes the journals American Music, Computer Music Journal.

Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks   -

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Arts and Humanities Citation Index --  Includes articles about topics in the arts and humanities (music, dance, theatre studies, etc.). Provides information on who has cited a researcher's work which can be helpful when doing historical music research.
 
Library Contact
Picture: Katie Greer

Katie Greer
Associate Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480

Picture: Sarah O'Brien

Sarah O'Brien
Lecturer
sarahobrien@oakland.edu
248.370.2483

Reference Resources
Credo Reference -- collection of reference resources, including the Harvard Dictionary of Music and the Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music. 

Oxford Music Online
A peerless compendium of information about music and musicians of all periods and places. 
 
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Searching for Library Materials
If you're looking for a specific type of material in the library with Library OneSearch, use these sets of filters to find what you need faster-- filters are found on the left side of your search results page.

BOOKS AND EBOOKS
Enter your keywords and click Search.  Then use the filters for Held by Library (under Availability) and Books (under Type) to see what we have.

SCORES, CHARTS AND FAKEBOOKS
Enter your keywords and click Search.  Then use the filters for Held by Library (under Availability) and Scores (under Type) to see what we have.

RECORDINGS
Enter your keywords and click Search.  Then use the filters for Held by Library (under Availability), and select the kind of recording you need (under Type)-- your options might include Audio, Audio Visual, CDs, LPs, Streaming Media, and/or Video.

To locate physical materials in the library itself, you can find:
  • CDs/DVDs at the Service Desk
  • Vinyl Records downstairs in Special Collections (make an appointment to listen to them here!)
  • Scores/Charts upstairs on the third floor
Recommended Databases
JOURNAL ARTICLES
Arts and Humanities Citation Index -- index of arts and humanities articles 1975-present, including many on music.

Humanities Source -- humanities articles 1984-present.

JSTOR -- full text articles covering a broad range of topics in music, particularly historical or classic articles on a given subject, 1665-present.

Music Index -- a comprehensive index of articles about music, musicians, and the industry, 1970-present.

Project MUSE -- full text of 14 distinct music journals, including American Music and the Computer Music Journal.


SOUND RECORDINGS
Contemporary World Music -- delivers recordings from around the world, many jazz works included.

NAXOS Music Library -- includes many jazz albums, as well as notes on the individual recordings, performers, composers, and performances you can view while you listen.


VIDEO RECORDINGS
AVON: Academic Video Online -- a multidisciplinary collection that includes a number of recorded performances and interviews by jazz musicians.

NAXOS Video Library -- an extensive streaming collection that includes recorded concerts, other live performances, and documentaries.
Free Public Resources Online
African American Sheet Music -- a collection of blues, ragtime, and early jazz materials spanning the 1850s-1920s, hosted by Brown University's John Hay Library.

Cultural Equity -- a collection of sound recordings by Alan Lomax.

The Fake Book Library -- an archive of jazz fakebooks, free to download!

Frances G. Spencer Collection of American Sheet Music -- a collection of over 30,000 titles of American popular music from the late 18th to early 20th centuries, hosted by the library at Baylor University.

The Freesound Project -- a collection of royalty-free, Creative Commons-licensed audio samples for musicians.

National Jukebox -- Jazz history is American history, and that's what the Library of Congress is all about.

The Open Music Archive -- a project to make available recordings of out-of-copyright music with substantial folk, blues, jazz and pop holdings.

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings -- tens of thousands of recordings hosted by the Smithsonian, including blues, ragtime and jazz.
Library Contact
Picture: Katie Greer

Katie Greer
Associate Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480

Picture: Sarah O'Brien

Sarah O'Brien
Lecturer
sarahobrien@oakland.edu
248.370.2483

Ask A Librarian - Chat

Reference Sources
Credo Reference -- a collection of reference resources, including the Harvard Dictionary of Music and the Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music. 

Grove/Oxford Music Online -- a compendium of information about music and musicians of all periods and places. 
Local Resources
A Brief History of Detroit's Music Scene-- a quick guide to Detroit's musical history from original dance bands through jazz, blues and motown all the way up to techno and rap.

Detroit Jazz History-- MusicWiki Detroit's brief guide to local music history.

Jazz Calendar-- who's playing where and when, a calendar of local jazz events maintained by the Southeastern Michigan Jazz Association (SEMJA).
Searching for Books
The Library has both books and ebooks on all kinds of music technology-- for example: You can find these and many others with Library OneSearch-- use the built-in filters to find what you need faster!  They can be found on the left side of your search results page.

Enter your keywords and click Search.  Then use the filters for Held by Library (under Availability) and Books (under Type) to see what we have.
 
Free Public Resources Online
REFERENCE
MusicBrainz -- a free and open-source music encyclopedia.

MusOpen -- provides recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public, without copyright restrictions.


COMPOSITION
MuseScore -- free, open-source music composition software.


SCORES AND SHEET MUSIC
Inventions of Note Sheet Music Collection -- held by the Lewis Music Library at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, this collection consists of popular songs and piano compositions that portray technologies old and new alike.

The Mutopia Project -- over 2,000 pieces of music to to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses, in PDF, MIDI, and editable LilyPond file formats.

Partifi -- free online software that automates creation of individual parts from complete scores.  Includes a library of user-submitted parts and scores; linked with IMSLP.


PERFORMANCE
EXP Soundboard -- soundboard and audio file format conversion application, compatible with WAV and MP3 files.

Resanance -- a free universal soundboard application.


RECORDING/PRODUCTION
Ardour -- free, professional-grade hard disk recording and digital audio workstation software for Windows, Mac, Linux, and FreeBSD systems.

Audacity -- open-source digital audio editor and recording application software for Windows, Mac, and Unix-like systems.

LMMS -- a free digital audio workstation application program.

Qtractor -- hard disk recording and digital audio workstation software for Linux systems.

Traverso-DAW -- free cross-platform multi-track audio recording, editing, and mastering software.


SAMPLES AND RECORDINGS
The Free Music Archive -- an interactive library of high-quality, Creative Commons-licensed audio downloads created by radio station WFMU.

The Freesound Project -- a repository of Creative Commons-licensed audio samples.

The Great 78 Project -- a massive repository of digitized LP records of all kinds, intended for preservation, research and discovery.  Part of The Internet Archive.
Library Contact
Picture: Katie Greer

Katie Greer
Associate Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480

Picture: Sarah O'Brien

Sarah O'Brien
Lecturer
sarahobrien@oakland.edu
248.370.2483

Ask A Librarian - Chat

Reference Sources
Credo Reference -- a collection of reference resources, including the Harvard Dictionary of Music and the Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music. 

Grove/Oxford Music Online -- a compendium of information about music and musicians of all periods and places. 
Recommended Databases
JOURNAL ARTICLES
ACM Digital Library -- full text repository with some coverage of music technology.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index  -- index of arts and humanities articles 1975-present, including many on music.

Music Index -- a comprehensive index of articles about music, musicians, and the industry, 1970-present.

Project MUSE -- full text of 14 distinct music journals, including American Music and the Computer Music Journal.

ScienceDirect -- full-text journals, including interdisciplinary coverage of music technology; 1995-present.

Scopus -- substantial collection of peer-reviewed research articles, spanning both the humanities and scientific works.

Web of Science -- a broad multidisciplinary database that provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI).

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News