OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 2171 - Health Promotion I

Find Books and Articles
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "health promotion" AND "at risk" AND teen* (using * will get teens, teenages etc) and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review"
 
 
Suggested NURSING / HEALTH SCIENCE databases with evidence-based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. How to export to Refworks.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. PubMed dates back to 1946 and includes more than 32 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health, and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf.

View entire list of Nursing related databases
 
Sample books & ebooks
Health promotion for nurses: a practical guide 2014 Call Num: RT90.3.C53 2014
Health promotion in practice 2006 Call Num: RA427.8.H49752 2006
Integrative health promotion: conceptual bases for nursing practice  2006 Call Num: RT42.L38
Health Promotion Practice 2006 Call Num: RA427.8.H43
Health promotion in multicultural populations: a handbook for practitioners and students  2007 Call Num: RA427.8.H497515
Health promotion theory by 2006, Call Num: RA427.8.H529 
Health promotion practice: power and empowerment 2004 Call Num: RA427.8.L3
Evaluating health promotion programs2002 Call Num: RA427.8.V35
Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

Tutorials

Searching:
Researching with CINAHL tutorial
 

Citation Tools
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to RefWorks, a web-based citation managment system.
 

Citation Style Guides:

Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Original Author
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.

Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News