OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 3311 - Comprehensive Adult Nursing II

Locating information
Find information to answer quick questions about diseases, diagnosis, drugs, treatments etc..

POINT OF CARE TOOLS
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey Leading medical and surgical quick reference tool including epidemiology, diagnosis, treatment and patrient information. To access the PDF, please log in or register for a free account with your institutional subscription.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff DynaMed Plus  An evidence-based clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-care,more than 3,200 clinical topics includes information about epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, guidelines etc.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate Evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Includes topic summaries, adult and pediatric facets, graphs, images, guidelines etc. 


REFERENCE, GUIDES AND TEXTBOOKS

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. Also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, drug information, quick reference.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Bates' Visual Guide
Streaming videos that accompany the textbook, Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff STAT!Ref  Large collection of reference books including Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Diagnosis and Procedure codes and coversion tools, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Diagnosis Refernce Manual etc.
Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

Original Author
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.

Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.
Mobile resources
There are moblie apps for the iphone and ipad for the point of care tools. Review the reference chart to find the app you need. 

https://medlib.oakland.edu/mobile/ios.php
DRUG INFORMATION
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine Drugs A-Z
     
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Micromedex A collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases includes drug comparisons, identification, thereapuetic class searching, dosing and extensive patient education.
     
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate Drug interaction, includes Lexi-Comp's Comprehensive Drug-to-Drug, Drug-to-Herb and Herb-to-Herb Interaction Analysis Program.
Books

Anatomy review

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Netter Reference
Anatomical images from Netter's "Green Books," Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

Drake RL, Vogl AW, Mitchell AWM. Gray's Anatomy for Students. 2nd ed. Churchill Livingstone; 2009 [MDConsult]

Gosling JA, Harris PF, Humpherson JR et al. Human Anatomy: Color Atlas and Textbook. 5th ed. Elsevier; 2008 [MDConsult]


Pathophysiology review

Madara, B., & Pomarico-Denino, V. (2008). Pathophysiology (2nd ed.). Sudbury, Mass: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.

Corwin, E. J. (2008). Handbook of pathophysiology (3rd ed.). Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Madara, B. (2008). Obstetric and pediatric pathophysiology. Sudbury, Mass: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.

Munden, J. (2007). Pathophysiology. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Price, S. A., & Wilson, L. M. (2003). Pathophysiology: Clinical concepts of disease processes (6th ed.). St. Louis, Mo: Mosby.

McCance, K. L., & Huether, S. E. (2006). Pathophysiology: The biologic basis for disease in adults and children (5th ed.). St. Louis, MO: Elsevier Mosby.

Pathophysiology: A 2-in-1 reference for nurses. (2005). Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
 
Anatomy Review tools
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Anatomy.TV
Interactive, 3-D anatomy resource. Rotate, add or remove layers to learn more about anatomical structures. Use the case studies and the test function to enhance learning.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy
Access to images for download, manipulation, or live presentation.



 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News