OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 3531 - Health Promotion in Community

Searching for Literature
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers) located at the top of any library webpage.

*Try search terms like "health promotion" AND "at risk" AND teen* (using * will get teens, teenages etc) and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " "

Suggested NURSING / HEALTH SCIENCE databases with evidence-based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences. How to Export to Refworks. View the Researching with CINAHL tutorial.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library Collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making.   How to export to Refworks.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. How to export to RefWorks

View entire list of Nursing related databases
 
Finding examples of health promotion prorgams
Try CINAHL Evidence-Based Care Sheets

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC U.S. Department of Education educational-related literature and materials.

 A collection of full-text books, journals, patient education handouts, drug information, and images.

Unrestricted Resource MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

The NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries (formerly PRODIGY) are a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. (UK based)

Unrestricted Resource TRIP A  free clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
Citation Linkers

To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.


Google Scholar Article Search
 

Or use the library's citation linker tool.
**If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.

Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.Refworks tutorials

Citation Style Guides:


Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Getting started video

CLICK image to watch video
Books, ebooks and quick reference titles
Reference titles:
Health Promotion books & ebook reference titles
  for example:  Integrative health promotion : conceptual bases for nursing practice / Susan Kun Leddy. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2006.

Health Promotion - Nursing for example: Health promotion in practice / Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin, Joan Arnold, editors. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2006.

Foundation Directory -Directory of new and emerging foundation
s. Foundation Center. 2010

General books/ebook
titles: search - "health promotion" "risk populations"
Government data and online resources
Lectures & Tutorials

EBP tutorials:
Evidence-Based Practice Quick Reference Guide (Alaska Medical Library)
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC)


Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News