OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 4125 - Nursing Synthesis: Clinical

Finding Literature
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "COVID-19" AND "stress" AND nurse*  or (covid-19 or coronavirus) and nurses
Limit on side for material type, articles, newspapers, books etc. 

Suggested NURSING literature Databases:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. PubMed dates back to 1946 and includes more than 32 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health, and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff EMBase
Comprehensive coverage of the preclinical, medical and pharmacological sciences. Strong in the European literature, EMBase includes 2,000 not currently covered by Medline.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

*View entire list of Nursing related databases


Journals with COVID-19 free access articles:
BMJ's covid-19 hub 
PLOS journals COVID-19 pandemic in 2019-20
New England Journal of Medicine - COVID-19

POINT OF CARE - epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, guidelines tools

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey
An evidence-based clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-care, includes information about epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, guidelines etc. 
All COVID-19 content is free to download. To access PDF of all content, you must log in or register for a free account with your institutional subscription.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate
Evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Includes topic summaries, adult and pediatric facets, graphs, images, guidelines etc. 

Nursing Resources
Emergency Nurse Association COVID-19 Information
2019 Novel Coronavirus Nurse Resources

 
Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

Original Author
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.

Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.
Evaluating sources chart

Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage - Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?



 
Peer-Review Pyramid
Click to enlarge image

Citation Help
The OU community has free access to RefWorks, a citation management system that helps you generate a bibliography from your list of references automatically formatted in any common citation style.

Learn how to use Refworks tutorials

Citation Style Guides:

APA 7th Style Guide (by Santa Fe College Library)
Sample paper 

Literature Reviews
Free downloadable textbook Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News