OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 4325 - Nursing Synthesis: Clinical

Locating information for clinicals
To find information to answer quick questions about diseases, diagnosis, drugs, treatments etc, you will need to use different databases then you may have used in the past. 

POINT OF CARE - epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, guidelines tools

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey   An evidence-based clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-care,more than 3,200 clinical topics includes information about epidemiology, diagnosis, prevention, guidelines etc. 
To access the PDF, please log in or register for a free account with your institutional subscription.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff DynaMed Plus  
Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes images.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate Evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Includes topic summaries, adult and pediatric facets, graphs, images, guidelines etc. 

REFERENCE AND STUDY GUIDES

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. Also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, drug information, quick reference.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Bates' Visual Guide
Streaming videos that accompany the textbook, Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.

STAT!Ref Large collection of reference books including Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Diagnosis and Procedure codes and coversion tools, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Diagnosis Refernce Manual etc. 

CARE PLANS

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete  is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences. Search for Evidence-based Care sheets. 
DRUG INFORMATION
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine
     
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Micromedex A collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases includes drug comparisons, identification, thereapuetic class searching, dosing and extensive patient education.
     
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate Drug interaction, includes Lexi-Comp's Comprehensive Drug-to-Drug, Drug-to-Herb and Herb-to-Herb Interaction Analysis Program.
Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

Mobile resources
 There are moblie apps for the iphone and ipad. Review the reference chart to find the app you need. 

https://medlib.oakland.edu/mobile/ios.php
Original Author
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.

Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News