OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 4571 - Nursing Synthesis

Where to start
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers).

*Try search terms like" ethical considerations" AND  nursing (you don't need to type of the word AND) and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " "
 
Finding information
To look up definitions, gerneral and patient information use:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Nursing Resource Center
Mostly Full-text. Brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams and core encyclopedia texts.
Unrestricted Resource MedlinePlus  
MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in plain language. An excellent source for patient information.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable collection of electronic resources for healthcare professionals.

For research and trade journal articles and care plans use: 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present How to Export to Refworks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks
*View entire list of Nursing related databases

Video collection of nursing topics:
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Nursing Education in Video
This is "a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS."
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Getting started with nursing research

CLICK image to watch video
Services for You
Be sure to few the library services and information relevant to you> Services for YOU > Undergraduate Students 
The library also houses the Technology Help desk that can assist with using Word, Powerpoint and other programs and technology related challenges.
Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Selection of relevant books
Certifications and licenses
Brorsen, A. J., & Rogelet, K. R. (2012). Pediatric CCRN certification review. Sudbury, MA: Jones & Bartlett Learning.
Brorsen, A. J., & Rogelet, K. R. (2014). PCCN certification review (2nd ed.). Burlington, MA: Jones & Bartlett Learning.
Mosack, V. (2011). Psychiatric nursing certification review guide for the generalist and advanced practice: Psychiatric and mental health nurse (3rd ed.). Sudbury, Mass: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.
Hogan, M. A. (. (2008). Comprehensive review for NCLEX-RN: Reviews & rationales. Upper Saddle River, N.J: Pearson/Prentice Hall.   
Irwin, B. J., Yock, P. A., & Burckhardt, J. A. (2010). NCLEX-PN strategies for the practical nursing licensing exam (2010-2011 ed.). New York, NY: Kaplan Pub.    
Treas, L. S., Hauschildt, J., Fauber-Moore, P., & Assessment Technologies Institute. (2005). Registered nurse nursing care of children review module (6.0th ed.). Overland Park, KS: Assessment Technologies.


Nursing Ethics
Davis, A. J. (1997). Ethical dilemmas and nursing practice (4th ed.). Stamford, Conn: Appleton & Lange.
Bishop, A. H., & Scudder, J. R. (2001). Nursing ethics: Holistic caring practice (2nd ed.). Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.    
Seedhouse, D., & NetLibrary, I. (2000). Practical nursing philosophy: The universal ethical code. Chichester;New York;: John Wiley.
Fry, S. T., & Veatch, R. M. (2000). Case studies in nursing ethics (2nd ed.). Sudbury, Mass: Jones & Bartlett.    
 
Citation Tools
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to RefWorks a web-based citation managment system.
 

Citation Style Guides:


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News