OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 4585 - Nursing Capstone Experience

Find Books and Articles
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "health promotion" AND "at risk" AND teen* (using * will get teens, teenages etc) and use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review"


Free downloadable textbook - Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students


Suggested NURSING / HEALTH SCIENCE Databases:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Alt-Health Watch
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness are included here. Many articles are available full-text. Thanks to MeL. How to export Alt-Health Watch to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks / Also available via PubMed (MEDLINE)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

*View entire list of Nursing related databases

 
EBP Quality of Evidence Chart

Steps of a Literature Review
  • Problem formulation - which topic or field is being examined and what are the component issues?
  • Literature search - finding materials relevant to the subject explored
  • Data evaluation - determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
  • Analysis and interpretations - discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature
Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

Library Services
 Be sure to view the library services and information relevant to you at Services for YOU > Undergraduates

The library also houses the Technology Help desk that can assist with using Word, Powerpoint, and other programs, and can help you troubleshoot technology-related challenges.
Original Author
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.

Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.
Citation Tools
Kresge Library subcriptions include free access for the OU community to RefWorks, a web-based citation managment system.
 

Citation Style Guides:

Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist you in developing your ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Tutorials and guides
EBP tutorials:

Evidence-Based Practice Quick Reference Guide (Alaska Medical Library)
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC)

Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)

Database tutorials
CINAHL
PUBMED
 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News