OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 5021 - Vulnerable Pop/Social Issues

Searching for Literature
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "vulnerable populations" and "cultural compentency" and use facets on left to narrow by source type.

Suggested NURSING / HEALTH SCIENCE Databases with Evidence based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks
Review the Researching with CINAHL tutorials.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. How to export to Refworks.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. PubMed dates back to 1946 and includes more than 32 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health, and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf.

View entire list of Nursing related databases

 
Books & ebooks
Cultural competence in health care / edited by Wen-Shing Tseng, Jon Mark Streltzer. New York: Springer, c2008

Cultural competencies for nurses: Impact on health and illness / Linda Dayer-Berenson. Sudbury, Mass.: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2014.

Seeing patients: Unconscious bias in health care / Augustus A. White III, with David Chanoff. Harvard University Press, 2011.
 
Handbook of African American health: Social and behavioral interventions / edited by Anthony J. Lemelle, Wornie Reed, Sandra Taylor. New York: Springer, c2011.
 
Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

Lectures & Tutorials

Database tutorials:
CINAHL tutorials 

EBP tutorials:
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC)

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)

Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.

Citation Style Guides:
Original Author
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.

Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News