OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 515 - Vulnerable Pop/Social Issues

Searching for Literature
START by exploring Library OneSearch (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "vulnerable populations" and "cultural compentency" and use facets on left to narrow by source type.

Search for articles, books, and more...
Suggested NURSING / HEALTH SCIENCE Databases with Evidence based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences.  Coverage: 1981-present How to Export to Refworks
Review the Researching with CINAHL tutorials.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.   How to export to Refworks.
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. How to export to RefWorks
View entire list of Nursing related databases


Citation Linkers

To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.


Google Scholar Article Search
 

Or use the library's citation linker tool.
If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.

Books & ebooks
Cultural competence in health care [electronic resource] / edited by Wen-Shing Tseng, Jon Mark Streltzer. New York : Springer, c2008
Cultural competencies for nurses : impact on health and illness/ Linda Dayer-Berenson. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2011.
Seeing patients [electronic resource] : unconscious bias in health care / Augustus A. White III, with David Chanoff.
Cambridge, Mass. ; London, England : Harvard University Press, 2011.
Handbook of African American health [electronic resource] : social and behavioral interventions / Anthony J. Lemelle, Wornie Reed, Sandra Taylor, editors New York ; Dordrecht : Springer, c2011.
Cultural competence : a lifelong journey to cultural proficiency
/ [edited by] Ronnie Leavitt.Thorofare, NJ : SLACK Inc., c2010.
Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Lectures & Tutorials

Database tutorials:
CINAHL tutorials 

EBP tutorials:
Evidence-Based Practice Quick Reference Guide (Alaska Medical Library)
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC)

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
Critically Analyzing Information Sources (Cornell Libraries)

Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation styleRefworks tutorials

Citation Style Guides:


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News