OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 5231 - Research in Advanced Nursing Practice

Getting Started (video)
Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

Searching for Literature
Primary nursing databases for searching evidence-based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. How to export to Refworks.

  Simultaneously runs two searches in PubMed- first for systematic reviews, using the Clinical Queries filter, displayed under the “Systematic Reviews in PubMed” heading, The second uses a systematic review methods filter to find methods guidance and studies. Those results are displayed in the “Systematic Review Methods in PubMed” heading.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. PubMed dates back to 1946 and includes more than 32 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health, and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks

Broader databases for searching evidence-based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff EMBase
Comprehensive coverage of the preclinical, medical and pharmacological sciences. Strong in the European literature, EMBase includes 2,000 not currently covered by Medline.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Micromedex
Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff DynaMed Plus
Evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.

View entire list of Nursing related databases

View Database characteristics chart 
Online EPB resources
Drugs@FDA: FDA Approved Drug Products -  includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. The majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998. Includes efficacy information. 

National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Unrestricted Resource Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)  is produced by the NIHR Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK and evaluates systematic reviews in the field of healthcare and medicine. A summary of the review and critical commentary are written by experts in the topic area and in systematic reviews as a research method. 

Unrestricted Resource TRIP  is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care. (UK based)
Steps of a Literature Review
STEPS:
  • Problem formulation - which topic or field is being examined and what are the component issues?
  • Literature search - finding materials relevant to the subject explored
  • Data evaluation - determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
  • Analysis and interpretations - discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature
Blank Literature Review Critique chart
PICO example
Asking is fundamental to the evidence-based decision-making process.
A "well-built" question should include four parts, referred to as PICO that identify the patient problem or population (P), intervention (I), comparison (C) and outcome(s) (O).

Example: How do alternative breast cancer treatments improve the quality of life for young adult females?
P= young adult females with breast cancer 
I =  alternative therapies 
C= patients who don't use alternative therapies 
O= quality of life improvement

Levels of Evidence by study design
EBP Quality of Evidence Chart

Original Author
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.

Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.
Books & ebooks
Select nursing research books:

Evidence-based nursing: the research-practice connection / Sarah Jo Brown. Jones & Bartlett Learning, c2014.

Nursing research: reading, using, and creating evidence / Janet Houser. Jones & Bartlett Learning, c2015.

Reading research: a user-friendly guide for nurses and other health professionals / Barbara Davies, Jo Logan. Toronto: Mosby Elsevier, c2008.
 

Select anesthesia books:

Grove, S. K., Burns, N., & Gray, J. (2013). The practice of nursing research: Appraisal, synthesis, and generation of evidence (7th ed.). St. Louis, Mo: Elsevier/Saunders.

Schmidt, N. A., & Brown, J. M. (2015). Evidence-based practice for nurses: Appraisal and application of research. Sudbury, Mass: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.

Gregory, G. A., & Andropoulos, D. B. (2012). Gregory's pediatric anesthesia (5th ed.). Chichester, West Sussex: Wiley-Blackwell.

Slinger, P. (2019). Principles and practice of anesthesia for thoracic surgery (2nd ed.). New York: Springer. doi:10.1007/978-1-4419-0184-2

Jaffe, R. A., Schmiesing, C. A., & Golianu, B. (2020). Anesthesiologist's manual of surgical procedures (6th ed.). Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health.

Bucklin, B. A., Gambling, D. R., & Wlody, D. (2009). A practical approach to obstetric anesthesia. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams and Wilkins.

Miller, R. D., Pardo, M., & Stoelting, R. K. (2011). Basics of anesthesia (6th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier/Saunders.

Jericho, B. G.. (2015). Ethical issues in anesthesiology and surgery. Cham: Springer International Publishing. doi:10.1007/978-3-319-15949-2

Miller, R. D. (2019). Miller's anesthesia (9th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier/Saunders.

Chiumello, D. (2016). Topical issues in anesthesia and intensive care. Cham: Springer International Publishing. doi:10.1007/978-3-319-31398-6

Clinical anesthesia: Near misses and lessons learned. (2017). New York: Springer.

Lobato, E. B., Gravenstein, N., & Kirby, R. R. (2008). Complications in anesthesiology. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Valani, R., Shah, K. H. (2012). Essential emergency procedural sedation and pain management. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.

Citation Style Guides:
Tutorials and guides
Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
How to Write a Literature Review - Nursing Education Expert

Database tutorials
CINAHL
PUBMED

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News