OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 531 - Research in Advanced Nursing Practice

Citation Linkers

To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.


Google Scholar Article Search
 

Or use the library's citation linker tool.

If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.

Searching for Literature
Suggested nursing databases with evidence-based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Plus with Full-Text is a comprehensive and highly-authoritative database for research in nursing and health sciences. How to Export to Refworks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cochrane Library A collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.   How to export to Refworks.

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
You can also MEDLINE using the Web of Science database which some people find easier. 

View entire list of Nursing related databases

PICO example
Asking is fundamental to the evidence-based decision-making process.
A "well-built" question should include four parts, referred to as PICO that identify the patient problem or population (P), intervention (I), comparison (C) and outcome(s) (O).

Example: How do alternative breast cancer treatments improve the quality of life for young adult females?
P= young adult females with breast cancer 
I =  alternative therapies 
C= patients who don't use alternative therapies 
O= quality of life improvement

Citation Linkers

To get the full-text of an article you found on the web or elsewhere paste the citation information into Google Scholar and follow the Get-it buttons.


Google Scholar Article Search
 

Or use the library's citation linker tool.

If we don't have your article electronically or in print try borrowing through InterLibrary Loan.

Books & ebooks
See a list of nursing research titles in library. Examples:

Evidence-based nursing : the research-practice connection / Sarah Jo Brown.Jones & Bartlett Learning, c2012.

Nursing research : reading, using, and creating evidence / Janet Houser. Jones & Bartlett Learning, c2012.

Reading research : a user-friendly guide for nurses and other health professionals / Barbara Davies, Jo Logan.
Mosby Elsevier, c2008.

Online EPB resources
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

The NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries (formerly PRODIGY) are a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. (UK based)
EBP Quality of Evidence Chart

Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.

Citation Style Guides:
Library Contact
Picture: Julia Rodriguez

Julia Rodriguez
Associate Professor / Nursing, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian
juliar@oakland.edu

Schedule a research consultation (Fall & Winter only)
 
Steps of a Literature Review
  • Problem formulation - which topic or field is being examined and what are the component issues?
  • Literature search - finding materials relevant to the subject explored
  • Data evaluation - determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
  • Analysis and interpretations - discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature
Tutorials and guides
Evaluating sources chart

Six Things to Consider about any information source.....

1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency -
Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Coverage -
Is the information complete? Are there sources given for additional information?
4. Accuracy -
How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias -
Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness -
Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?



CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE



Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News