OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO NRS 5312 - Theory and Translational Research for Advanced Nursing Practice

Searching for Literature
START by exploring Library OneSearch found on at the top of all the library web pages. (includes books, ebooks, academic journals, newspapers)

*Try search terms like "nursing theory" or search for the theorist such as "Betty Neuman" AND nurse
 
*Use facets on left to narrow by source type - choose " Limit to articles from scholarly publications, including peer-review"

Suggested nursing databases with evidence-based literature:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks

View entire list of Nursing related databases
Steps of a Literature Review
  • Problem formulation - which topic or field is being examined and what are the component issues?
  • Literature search - finding materials relevant to the subject explored
  • Data evaluation - determining which literature makes a significant contribution to the understanding of the topic
  • Analysis and interpretations - discussing the findings and conclusions of pertinent literature
Library Contact
Picture: Mariela Hristova

Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464

Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.

Schedule an Appointment

Tutorials

Database tutorials:
CINAHL tutorials
PUBMED tutorials

Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)

Citation Tools
RefWorks is available through the Library subcriptions. You create a personal database of references, generate a bibliography from your list of references & automatically format in any common citation style.

Citation Style Guides:
Writing Help

The Writing Center at Oakland University will assist developing their ideas into polished final products. The Center's services are in high demand so be sure to plan ahead when scheduling an appointment.

Distance Student information
1. Review the New Students - Get Connected Technology Guide and be sure you have activated all important accounts:
  • Grizzly ID and PIN
  • NetID and Email

2. Get a SpiritCard, which will also serve as your library card.
**If you can't come to campus to get a card from the Spirit card office the library circulation staff  can help you set up a library account over the phone. Call them at (248)370-4425 and tell them you are a distance education student who needs to activate your library account.

3. Sign into your Oakland email account.
This account will be used for all official communication from the unviersity including the library.

4. Activate your interlibrary loan account in ILLiad.
*Be sure to register as a Distance Education student for additional services. See our ILL Policies for more details. Using this account you can request items you wish to borrow either from Kresge or from other libraries.
 
Original Author
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.

Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News